We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - limited menu”
Review of Poppa Piccolinos

Poppa Piccolinos
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok - limited menu”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not bad but you can eat better for the same or less at other nearby restaurants/gastro pubs. Been several time with kids (they do mainly pizza/Pastas) and the quality of ingredients and variety of seasonal fair is OK - But just ok. Could do better

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PedroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    88
    42
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denby Dale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“From Fine To First Class”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been to Poppa Piccolinos probably 5 or 6 times in so many years and it was always fine. 2 weeks ago we visited and were extremely impressed by the excellent service and great food we received. Lim the owner is working front of house and his attention to detail across the restaurant personally and directing the staff has had huge impact. The food presentation and quality is extremely high. We went back last weekend and it was even better. This restaurant which was fine in our books has moved to outstanding for us. Lim’s personal impact across all aspects has made this a great first class experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This restaurant never disappoints for the quality of food and the warm welcome.
Enjoyed a delicious meal.
Chicken Liver Parfait - wonderful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldTikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a very nice evening at Poppa Piccolinos with friends. The service was friendly, fast and efficient. We only had main courses but they were all well presented and delicious. My husband and I had fillet steaks which were large, very tender and cooked exactly to our preferences. Lovely fresh salad. This is a family restaurant and although we were an adult party I can imagine it's a great place to take children. Good value for money with a well priced wine menu. The owner/manager is very helpful and even put the flowers my friend gave me in water during the meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice for a price”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice food, The Manager made a big fuss of the guy on the next table who was a regular and a council member,We had to constantly ask for Drinks, menu, food and the Bill, very annoying!!!
The Food was very good, The drinks were well overpriced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinesid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppa Piccolinos also viewed

 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Poppa Piccolinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing