We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chips were the best bit!”

The Old Bridge Hotel
Ranked #25 of 80 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chips were the best bit!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Old bridge just from passing by as I noticed it was busy from the outside.
It has lots of places to sit outside and it was a nice day so I chose to sit outside, unfortunately none of the free tables had been cleared from their previous occupiers.
I had a pimms to drink and was shocked to see it served with no fruit.
I was very pleasantly surprised to see a whole board for vegetarians as we don't usually get that goo a choice. I went for the brie and beetroot chutney tart which sounded lovely. When it arrived there was far too much brie, no sign of the beetroot chutney, and it was served with a tomato and basil sauce which was too strong and tasted a bit too much like pasta sauce. I still enjoyed the meal, but not to the extent I had hoped too. However the chunky chips which were served with it were to die for!
Overall I was neither satisfied not dissatisfied and am impartial about going again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 79Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    183
    90
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK Bar meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Old Bridge is in the centre of Holmfirth and parking is not for the squeamish... the carpark is busy most nights and parking is tight. The bar sells a range of well kept beers, Copper Dragon is a favourite of mine here.
Barmeals are exacly that, the selection is good and the portions are generous. The prices are ok for pubs in the area and the quality is pub not restaurant, but thats OK as thats what you should expect in a pub, even the public bar of a hotel like this one.
You can eat outside but in the evenings you will be in the shade and therefore on the cooler side of the carpark. eating outside of course means you might be joined by a smoker seconds after you have your meal delivered to the table.
Decor and furnishings inside are tired but clean. Gents toilets are OK.
wifi is free and the signal is generally pretty strong, but I have needed to have the router re-booted before my laptop can see it sometimes.
OK if you want a quiet meal and go online when visiting on business. Not the kind of place I would go for a special night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good filling lunch plate”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A good lunch was had here. The curry on the specials list was very good and plentiful. The drinks were quite expensive but the local beer was worth having.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Slough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for big eaters”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here, there was plenty of choice on the menu, but beware the portions are very large for main meal and dessert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meganne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, but super large portions”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent fresh local food, but beware how large the portions are. Great if you can eat for 3!! Check before you order.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigHCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bridge Hotel also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing