We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat.”
Review of The Swan Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fittleworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a relaxing weekend (2 night stay) at the Swan Inn. We last stayed at the Swan Inn about 15 years ago and love the area. We decided to return to the Swan Inn just to relax and recharge, and we were not disappointed. The Swan Inn was perfect. Amazing food, had a lovely Sunday roast and the cooked breakfast, superbly cooked. The owners are friendly, helpful and extremely polite. The room we stayed in, a converted barn, has all you need for a stopover. It is peaceful, welcoming and will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: The converted barns are quiet and away from bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
38
79
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I took my fiancé to the swan for a valentine treat with dinner and bed and breakfast.
The atmosphere in the pub is very warm and friendly.
Lt
The beer is great ( peroni on tap ) !
The food was amazing my fiancé had salmon and vodka starter and I had king prawns both were very ample portions and tasted great.
We had chateaux briand en croute to share for main course it was lovely.
The room was very clean and comfortable with a good shower.
My only gripe was that the breakfast was served Luke warm
We will definitely be returning to the swan in the near future.
I would thoroughly recommend this pub.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was a little while ago but I have been intending to review this ever since we ate there.

The welcome was very friendly and the bar is extremely comfortable. It has been smartened up a lot since we lived in the village and overall I think a great improvement. Really enjoyed the food and I hope that it is a great success under these owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit at Large
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Swan for two nights between Christmas and New Year visiting relatives who live locally. We were given a fairly small but clean and comfortable en-suite room in a converted barn a few yards behind the pub. After an excellent nights' sleep we were treated to a superb freshly-cooked breakfast. Staff were very friendly and the pub has good beer (did not try the lunch or evening menu.) All in all this represented excellent value for money.

Fittleworth is a pretty Sussex village in the South Downs National Park. There is plenty to see and do locally. This would make a great location for a long weekend. Be warned - they do get booked up when there are events on at nearby Goodwood.

Room Tip: I haven't syated in the main building for years, only the rooms in the converetd barn. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovin_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for a Christmas get together. The staff did a wonderful job looking after us, especially as they had storms, floods, and a powercut to contend with. When we arrived the pub was lit by candles, but that added to the cosy atmosphere. Owing to the lack of power hot meals couldn't be provided so somebody went to the next village over to get us takeaways. There were on the house and were very much appreciated! The room we stayed in was lovely. Clean, with a heater that worked - the power had returned by the small hours, or at least the generator kicked in. Everything we needed was there. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. If we ever need a place to stay in that neck of the woods i will definitely return! We had an excellent night, which, given the circumstances, could have turned into a nightmare. Thank you all so much. We hope the storms didn't cause you any further disruption. All the best.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank xxTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed the night in the Swan inbetween visiting relatives. The pub is set in the middle of a tiny charming village, is around 600 years old and full of history, the Landlord told us Elgar had stayed there. The rooms have recently been refurbished and we were lucky to stay in "Goodwood" a beautiful room with a four poster bed, the only critism being the bed was on the small side. Dinner in the evening was good, I chose sea bass baked in salt which was delicious. Breakfast was average, a choice of cereal and bulk standard cooked breakfast - would have liked some fruit, but wasn't a problem as we were meeting our releatives for lunch.

Room Tip: Goodwood Room is a good size with a small but cosy four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a lunch as part of a group of neighbours. The place was very quiet, only our party and one other table was occupied.
The food was OK, typical pub grub, nothing to write home about, but OK. Service was good and staff very obliging.
I imagine parking could be tight if it got busy.
Price was average.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fittleworth
2.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
317 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
668 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,029 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Fittleworth
Swan Hotel Fittleworth
The Swan Inn Fittleworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing