We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Godalming Hotel(Godalming)
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asperion(Guildford)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Guildford(Guildford)(Great Value!)
$91
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
36
58
45
38
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
58
45
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay againhotel is centrally locateddeluxe roomcoaching innfull englishpleasant staybreakfast was excellentshort staycharactercentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 212 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you are passing through and want a comfortable night's rest this hotel is perfectly acceptable. Other reviews correctly identify the need for refurbishment, it does feel a bit dated and a world away from the identikit experience of the big chains. That said it is a beautiful building which could be stunning. We managed to work round their parking limitations, using the public car park a 3-4 min. walk away. The big plus for the King's Arms is the staff. They really do make a difference. How refreshing to encounter proper customer service not out of some management speak brochure!

Room Tip: Avoid High Street side if you need quiet. Godalming is lively at night and you will be able to hear the revelry!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lyndybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the moment I arrived in the almost non existent car park I was a little worried. Once I arrived in the lobby and saw all the food "offers" I worried a little more, then there was the reception/check in and the sign to say go into the bar if there is no one here.....once I had found someone things did not improve as the rooms had been incorrectly allocated (even though the arrangements had been very clear and agreed the day before)
I was told this was due to an ex employee who left a couple of days previous?
Owners tried hard but I feel this hotel needs massive investment in both premises and staff to improve significantly. Expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Centrally located at the heart of gorgeous Godalming. Parking IS a problem, the hotel only has a few bays os only alternative is the council car parks, beautiful though they are, expensive they can be.
Old fashioned, friendly and helpful hospitality are massive bonuses. Rooms are like their photos, fashionably shabby chique, with oversized antiqued furniture. But oversized, over-watted bulbs are blinding. Bathroom was massive also but grubby. Perhaps the room was not regularly used, but it could have benefitted from a deep clean and a new set of complimentary shampoos. I didn't even want to touch the discoloured, grimy set deserted above the sink. A few more towels would be good. But shower was hot and powerful. Bed was ok but the mattress was framed and a source of continuous injury.
Breakfast was good and again I must stress wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Avoid singles. I was at the back and it was quiet but hot. Above beer garden so smelly with the window open. Some fan interruption also.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited the Kings Arms for one night the other week.We did not plan to stay there,but we were visiting family nearby and did not fancy driving home.The landlady was excellent.nothing was to much trouble,and she even lent us her sat nav,as we had an appointment in Steyning the next morning.Ignore reviews up to about six weeks ago,as the new owners have only been here a couple of months,and are trying to turn round an impressive building into a top hotel.We found the place spotless,our room was great,and breakfast was superb,we arrived to late for evening meal.From what i can gather this place was very run down,but the new owners are superb,and are already turning it around.Given time this will be top notch,and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here a few times now and have to say it's going very much the right way. The new owners who have only been there a couple of months are really very nice people. You are made very welcome and the place is spotless. Be prepared for the slightly wibbldy wobbldy floors, but to be fair it was built in 1700 and something! So it's doing pretty well I would say. The food is very good indeed with the steak on a brick highly recommend. If you book, don't go through agents as you will pay at least a third more. I have seen others charge double. I paid £75.00 for a good double with all you need, so phone them direct and book it. It's a great place to stay. It's got a lot of qualities of a good old fashioned pub that is in keeping with the fabulous high street it's located on. If I could give six stars out of five.

Room Tip: All good rooms, no bad ones.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pmstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews