We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed one night, we originally booked a premier inn at £100 with no breakfast - the Kings Arms was £74 including breakfast. The website is nothing like the hotel, our room was small with a torn bed throw over the bed, grubby carpet, nice large shower even though the sealant was black. They should make it more clear parking at the Hotel is very limited. Also please tidy the reception area - out of date tourist information and as for the supermarket carrier bags piled high in the reception office......

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fussyaboutfoodme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Kings Arms and Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Kings Arms

I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for the difficulties you encountered during your visit to us, however I am confident that we have now done our utmost to resolve these and reach a resolution in any way that we can.

However if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the TripAdvisor messaging facility.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in a mediocre room on the lousier side (left, going up the stairway). The nondescript piece of furniture, whatever it was, with chicken wire where glass might be, was a nice touch. WIFI weak on that side of the hotel. Breakfast good, pub was also good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the "good" side. Pub is below on the left side, may be advisable to avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Electroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Kings Arms and Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Kings Arms.

I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for the difficulties you encountered during your visit to us, however I am confident that we have now done our utmost to resolve these and reach a resolution in any way that we can.

However if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly via the TripAdvisor messaging facility.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place seems to be getting progressively worse every time I visit. I can't comment on the quality of the accommodation, although if the food is anything to go by, give it a miss.
The lad serving behind the bar was friendly and on the ball, but that's where the niceties ended. I thought I'd chance it with a beef roast, which with a pint of Foster's came to just over ten pounds. I live in London and would pay roughly twice that for the same meal, so make of that what you will about the quality vs price. What arrived was a tiny portion with tired, wilted veg, poor quality meat and a watery, lukewarm gravy (served with sprouts, I mean who the hell eats sprouts these days??). I briefly contemplated sending it back ut couldn't see the point if the replacement was likely to have been of the same dreadful standard.
It's a real shame because there was over a million pounds invested in this building a few years ago, yet the place just seems tired and burdensome, the managers seem to change at roughly the same rate I change my underpants, which may have a lot to do with it.
It was cold in the bar as well. Avoid.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank AM1983-0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I chose the Relaxinnz Kings Arms And Royal in Godalming primarily because of its location and didn't spend much time checking any reviews. The Hotel is on the main street in Godalming and is now looking a little tired - It looks a little like a haunted house inside! (see my photos!). My room was relatively small with one single bed and an ensuite shower/toilet. Everything was clean although the hotel does have an old "musty" smell about it.

My room had secondary double glazing but the outside sash window was half open so was a little noisy. I thought I'd pop down to the bar at 10:45pm to mention this and grab a nightcap but the reception desk and bar was closed with all the lights off!

Breakfast was fine and the service OK. Not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed in by any means but an OK hotel at an OK price.

Would I recommend it? Probably not, I'm sure there are better!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here on Business in October. Hotel Decor is dated but i think it adds to its charm. I stayed in room 3 which was a nice size room with wooden beams and an ok size en suite. The problem with the room was the Boiler coming on @ 5am ( i have never stayed in a Hotel where there is a Boiler in the cupboard ). The service from the young man behind the bar was very good and Breakfast was also good although some fresh fruit would be a good idea.
I would probably stay here again as it is in good location but would check room first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very convenient in the middle of town, with a car park. It's an old building, so rooms and floors are different sizes and shapes. I have stayed here twice, in different rooms. Clean and tidy, but furniture dated. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good value for money. Nice little town only 40 mins from London. Hiking, biking and boating, all in the beautiful English countryside. Food was better than average pub food. Great place to stay if you don't want the cost and craziness of London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#5 of 11 in Guildford
768 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
520 reviews
8.4 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms and Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Address: 22-25 High Street, Godalming GU7 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: $71 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms and Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel is a tradional British pub with seating capacity of 50 in the main dining room. Private function room for business meetings and private parties with seating capacity of 50. Outside patio and enclosed beer garden. Families welcome. Free limited parking at the rear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Arms and Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing