We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay here on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. I can normally find some fault with hotels/inns but not this time!!

From our arrival and check in to our breakfast and departure everything was perfect. The staff (Lizzie and our waitress) throughout were friendly and efficient and we enjoyed their hospitality. Dinner was superb and even though it was a very busy Friday night there were no delays. Wine prices were fine and the ales on offer were good. We completed a nice walk in the afternoon that I think is on the website and it passes another pub called the squirrel in if you fancy a wee drink.

Our room was called 'Brook' and was above the front door. Not a problem for us as we were eating and drinking downstairs but if you wanted an early quiet night then maybe a quieter room would suit. A fantastic comfy bed, excellent shower, flat screen tv and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

We had a cooked breakfast (possibly only available on weekends) and as expected it was delicious.

The management here have absolutely nailed it! Well done!! We're going back as soon as we can as its rare to leave a place as content as we did this morning..

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 319 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Stag for a birthday meal after visiting the Duke of Cambridge (sister pub) and having a wonderful time. We definitely weren't disappointed with The Stag. It is an excellent place for a pint in a pub garden on a sunny day, but also a good place for a cosy dinner in winter. It was much less busy I was expecting, but perhaps this is because it is tucked away? It is a friendly pub with good service - would visit again for a sunshiney pub or tasty dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FairyTaleDreamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Stag on the River for our Wedding Anniversary in November 2013, and we absolutely loved the Inn, which is in a beautiful location and an ideal Autumn / Winter place to stay. The dinner, bed and breakfast offer is very good and we enjoyed the food.

However, my one gripe is to do with the holding deposit, which is the total cost of your stay + an extra £30. We paid for our stay upon checkout, however it transpires that the holding deposit is not released back into your account for another 7 working days! Despite the payment for the stay being processed, which in my opinion is far too long, not a problem perhaps for the wealthy Surrey locals, but for someone like myself, it is extremely inconvenient for the cash flow.

In conclusion, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, but you might want to ensure that your account is suitably padded out to deal with the wait for your deposit to return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stampeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Warm welcome, if somewhat effusive. Pleasant corner table, and prompt, polite service. Drinks served quickly, leaving sensible time to consider menu. Food very good,
Since it was bonfire night, very few customers, so very relaxed atmosphere. We trust similar standards are achieved when visiting on a busier night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A lovely country pub in a picturesque village, surprising as it's so close to London. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with a local walking route, map with points of interest highlighted. Even in October sitting outside on the River was beautiful. We ate in the Restaurant and found the food to be excellent. All in all very good value for money. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of days here for my partners birthday. We wanted a log fire and country walks. What we actually got was a log fire, country walks and amazing food. Both evening meals were fantastic and the breakfast was great. Lovely atmosphere as well and we spent a lot of our stay just reading papers and drinking coffee feeling very relaxed and welcomed by all staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the fresh milk in the rooms was a real winner for me. Definitely going back soon. Really nice people and the chefs were a talented bunch.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice little find thanks to a colleague / friend.

Rooms very well appointed and maintained. Comfortable beds, good linen and towels, own brand toiletries. Excellent showers.

Said there was WiFi but there isn't any in the two rooms we had. Says there is in the hotel guide but also no mention of password, you have to go back to the bar to find that out, as it is password protected in the public areas it seems , so that is fair enough.

Really nice tea and coffee tray but sadly no milk or creamer, so did not partake.

Only warning is that rooms at the front are over main door, where people sit outside and smoke.

Breakfast buffet is a little lack lustre, shame. Egg Boiler for self cook hard boiled eggs, nice breads fresh or toasting. Cheese, but fruit bowl drab and thin slices of grapefruit with skin on and same with the melon, very odd way to present them both. There is no cooked breakfast, which is fine for me but possible not for some. Comp newspapers out though.

Staff all very friendly and we also enjoyed a lovely dinner there.

Room Tip: Lovely location, good for Guilford and Godalming. No hair dryer for those that need them and phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
2.1 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
511 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
753 reviews
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stag on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing