We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a summer savers deal - what a bargin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a summer savers deal - what a bargin”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice clean accommodation where everything worked — lovely crisp white cotton sheets and plenty of pillows.Huge walk in shower with a selection of good quality branded toiletries. The continental breakfast buffet has plenty of choice but fresh english breakfast is cooked to order. The evening meal choice would suite the most fussy eater and you can sit in the garden , patio or restaurant. I will look out for other inns in the group when requiring accommodation as I thought this was great value.A short walk to town center and on sundays live music in the park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katielittlered87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
43
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We found the room tired, unimaginative and drab. Simple additions like another towel rail in the bathroom would have been handy; bed was adequate but not very comfortable. Bed head was extremely grubby and overall felt the room had a neglected feel. Agree with the comment about the lighting and mirror. No complaints about the actual food we had in the restaurant in the evening but the waitress was indifferent and humourless. The breakfast waitress (a different one) was equally as indifferent and humourless! Shame they make a point of stating in the bedroom information sheet that they pride themselves on friendly staff! Hard to find a member of staff in the morning to check out too. Would not go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinG813, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear AJ,

thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay. We at the Inn try our hardest to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with there stay. Unfortunately we seem to have missed the mark on several points with you, my sincere apologies and had any of these issues been brought to our attention we would have happily tried to address them for you.
I have reminded the team that the very foundation of all that we strive for is a warm and friendly service and that in this day and age of the Internet critic we are constantly on review.
My apologies again that we did not meet up to your satisfaction.
One final note the design and lighting of the rooms was in fact deisigned by a woman.....
Should you wish to any of the points you raise further, please do not hesitate to contact me via our website.
Kind Regards

Justin Geri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Godalming hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel down to location. Godalming is only a 5 minute was away and had plenty of boutique shops and restaurants. The devils punch bowl is a 10 minute drive and well worth a visit.

The hotel itself is situated just outside of Godalming town centre and is easily accessible.

With friendly and knowledgable staff, both on the local area and on the vast wine offerings at the bar, the hotel is a pleasant stay for a couple of nights.

The positives are - a very nice pub downstairs offering a wide range of beers, wines & cocktails as well as great food to the rooms themselves. They are modern and everything you expect for the amount spent.

On the downside, if you are in your rooms in the evening, up until when the bar shuts at around 10:30pm they tended to be quite noisey. When we was there, there was an issue with the toilets that made a vibrating noise in our room.. When we questioned what this was they explained that they had called an engineer but as it was bank holiday wouldn't be here until the next working day. They offered us free drinks as closed the toilets at 10.30 when last orders were called.

There are 16 rooms and I would advise asking for rooms 1-4 as we was 16 and above the bar and toilets.

Overall experience 4*

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinG813, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Lewis in London,
Thank you for you feedback with regards to your recent stay.
We at the Inn work extremely hard to maintain standards, obviously the pub noise and impact of guest staying within the hotel are beyond our control, though we do try to manage the situation as best we can.
Thanks again for the positive and constructive comments.
regards

Justin Geri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Overall a pleasant stay, plus points include nice decor in the room and restaurant, nice large shower and comfy bedding. The staff were also friendly, and it was handy to have parking right outside the inn.

However, the lighting in the room was not good for women, the shadows from the lighting meant putting make up on was very difficult, and we resorted to using small vanity mirrors propped up against the window. Our room happened to over-look the area where all the Biffa bins are kept for the inn, which didn't create a very nice view, but was also a pain when they were emptying bottles into the bins at midnight when you are trying to sleep. The windows are not double glazed.

Breakfast was fine, but the continental options were very limited with few cereals.

Overall, I would use this inn again, but I would specifically request not to be put in a room over-looking the bins again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have always been satisfied. I think the value for money is excellent considering it is Surrey. Very clean with very helpful staff and our room was extremely warm and cosy. People complain about noise, slamming doors etc, well that really is not the fault of the hotel, they cannot control the behaviour of their guests, going on personal experience and having stayed in many hotels I have found this always to be some what of a problem, but surely to be expected ! Will definately be staying again when visiting Surrey

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireOap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longhope, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake 10th March for 2 nights. The room was lovely, clean and airy and warm (it was snowing outside!). Gorgeous stone effect bathroom. We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights, the second night was a family party and we had a great time - the food was fabulous and the service attentive. Recommend you try the Mediterraneous Mezze - it's huge!
We paid extra for the cooked breakfast and it was well worth it - quality ingredients and really well cooked. Don't often see Eggs Benedict on a breakfast menu.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay, no complaints, friendly staff and quality food. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinG813, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

To check in we had to go and search out someone from the kitchens- once we found her we were dealt with efficiently. I was filled with dread as i walked through the hall to our room- it definitely had a pub like smell to it, however all that disappeared once in our room. The room was furnished in a modern style with comfortable beds, pillows and quilts and a nice (but cold) bathroom that had a very efficient shower.
There were 2 gripes with the room. 1. All lighting came from above - be it on the vanity mirror in the bedroom or in the bathroom, applying make up was a nightmare since it was all shadows. 2. The windows were not double glazed consequently there was a breeze and throughout the night i kept being woken by doors opening and closing outside.
Breakfast was continental (you could pay extra for cooked) but not a great choice and we had to ask them to cook toast.
All that said it's the only place in Godalming that i would go back to since despite it being a beautiful town it's quality of B&Bs is very poor. This is definitely number 1 on the list of 4 we have stayed at.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the busy road and those at the back seem let in a lot of noises and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
1.3 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
4.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Address: The Inn on the Lake, Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing