We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay at Wookey Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wookey Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wookey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wookey Farm
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 night stay at Wookey Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently spend 2 nights here on this wonderful campsite. We took our two boys aged 10 and 8 and they say it was one of the best places they've been to and would love to return. Fairly quiet when we went but that was brilliant for more space and peace. We really enjoyed listening to the birds in the morning. We had plenty of space on our pitch, which was at the near end of the field, which my boys took advantage of playing endless football. We had a campfire both nights and were quite glad we had nobody camping next to us so we had the firepit all to ourselvesl!!The first day we wandered over to the stream and waded in wellies, and our boys loved playing on the rope swings. A particular favourite of ours were the goats, who we went to visit every day. The composting toilets were a curiosity but extremely clean. I could have spend a while in there reading the books too! Nearby were Wells and Wookey Hole, but the campsite was completely in the countryside, so a perfect little haven. The owners were extremely friendly and appear to be doing really well with their eco-friendly farm and campsite. Also - their pork sausages are fantastic - we brought them home for a bbq and had fond memories of our little break at Wookey Farm whilst eating them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in our caravan and tent here and had a love time we have 5 childern and they absolutely loved the baby goats (kids) although my 6yr old still dosnt believe me there called kids. We love the close ness it brings being a basic site its what we wonted would love to stay longer but cant cope with out showers more the couple of days. Made owners could look into solar shower id stay much longer lovely site. And owners very friendly and helpfull cant fault them at all. A brilliant bk to nature site and will definitely go bk again as not far but feels like you realy get away. :-) thank you from sarah craig and children :-)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank glittergirl_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 days spent at Wookey Farm. We stayed in our VW camper on a spacious level pitch with electric hook up. We loved the tranquility and the ethos of the farm adds to the feel good factor. We can highly recommend the goat based products in the farm shop, the goat tagine was fantastic! we also sampled the spicy goat sausages, herby cheese and Brie style cheese, all excellent. It is in a convenient location to sight see around the area, we were able to visit Cheddar Gorge and Wells before heading back to the site. We look forward to visiting next year in the spring time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wookey Farm Campsite is part of a Goat Farm near the village of Wookey - as described on its website it is spacious in a pleasant spot near a small river with very basic facilities - three loos, drinking water tap, one small wash basin & no showers. Electricity points were provided on pitches and a small kiosk sells goats cheese goats milk and various goat dishes.

The dozen or so pitches are well spaced with lots of room for kids to play games in the central area. When full up to 40+ adults & children could be on the site putting pressure on the only three toilets provided - two "eco" toilets and one ageing portaloo which was often not left as one would wish to find it (the site has no mains drainage)

Our verdict would be - fine for "good life addicts" in tents or for glampers in motor homes & caravans with their own facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilternmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

weve just come back from 4days camping at wookey farm and it was fantastic. It was great getting involved with the goats and our son loved feeding and helping Ian & James the volunteer getting the goats feed ready and the milk.The river was lovely our dog loved that. The eggs are lovely and tasty aswell. You couldnt ask for a a better couple Ian and Sarah make you feel so welcome and jake of course. The compost toilets and portaloo are kept clean at all times. We will definetly be going back in the 6 weeks holiday many thanks once again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon36Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I from Cambridge stayed at this wonderful site for 4 nights over the Easter holidays and we loved it. The owners were so friendly and encouraged our two little girls to come and feed the kids and meet the goats. Such a wonderful hands on experience for us all. The children loved being able to cuddle up with them in their pens and give them their milk. The site is ideally located near some beautiful places and we had fun in nearby Bath, Wells, Cheddar and Wookey hole. Again we use our own facilities but we did use the compost toilets once and thought they were brilliant. Such a great idea and wonderful for the environment. The price was fantastic and with hook up we were really happy with the nightly rate.
The owners have all sorts of meat for sale and we bought some sausages home which have been delicious.
Would highly reccomend this site to others. Peaceful tranquility with fun for the children all rolled into one. When were next in the area we will defiently come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just spent two days at this lovely little site. Ian and Sarah, our hosts, were friendly and welcoming and very relaxed.
Our children had the best fun being around the animals, watching goats being born, cuddling up to the baby goats in the pens and generally doing lots of other outdoorsy things. They didn't want to leave - and neither did we. It was quiet, clean and beautiful. A slice of tranquility in lives that are too busy. Just brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheretogo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wookey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Farm

Property: Wookey Farm
Address: Wookey Farm Monks Ford, Wookey, Wells BA5 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wookey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing