We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will definately be back.”
Review of Wookey Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wookey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wookey Farm
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The site was well looked after. Good size pitches. Ian and Sarah made us feel welcome. A real family welcome. Very pretty site and the surrounding area was very inviting, lots of lovely walks and rambles.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank 186299Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Wookey Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

My daughter and I have just returned from a lovely, relaxing short break at this simple but well kept campsite. The site is level and pitch sizes generous. Just one portalou so far but I understand additional eco-friendly toilets and showers are in the pipeline. I particularly enjoyed the communal campfire last night and my mug of tea in the peaceful, early morning sunshine before the rest of the camp woke up.

Being close to Cheddar, Wells, Wookey Hole and Glastonbury and not too far from the coast, there's plenty to do for those staying more than a night or two. As my stay was brief, I didn't discover more than the local pub - but very nice it was too and an easy walk from the site.

The friendly hosts, Ian and Sarah, welcome interest in their chickens and goat herd and have no shortage of young campers offering to help at feeding time! Their farm also has a shallow river running through it with rope swings so if you have young children who need reminding of the joy of simple, outdoor pleasures, this is the site for you!

I look forward to going back!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank letmecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our visit and it is a must to go back. Ian and Sarah were really helpful with places to visit, and the goats were just adorable - could watch them for hours. As the website says it is basic but they are planning compost loos and showers soon Can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank funky005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have stayed on basic campsites many times and this one was great with large level pitches, nice and quiet and the farm attractions for the children BUT there is only 1 portaloo for all 15 pitches and this weekend it could not cope with approx 20 adults and 16 children all camping The drinking water taps (2) were being used as the dish washing area by most of the campers (not us) so the soak aways were full of food bits and this is not a good idea in the hot weather. The owners are very friendly and helpful and our grandchildren loved their stay..they were just glad we had our own camping toilet! (ps there are no showers either but we dont mind that and the web-site clearly states this )

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a great bank holiday weekend camping trip to Wookey Farm Campsite. Ian and Sarah looked after us really well and our children enjoyed every minute of it.
The campsite is located on small farm near Wookey Hole in Somerset. As a family with young children we prefer the farm experience to the big commercial setups - you can have a campfire, explore the river and visit the farm. The facilities are simple - just a portaloo, water and electricity hook-up. This was clearly explained on their website so we didn't feel we were missing anything.
The village of Wookey is a short walk away and has several excellent pubs serving really good food. The staff in the Ring O Bells were really nice.
About a mile away is the city of Wells, and there's a large Tesco's where we bought all our food. Wells is a really compact and pretty city and the Cathedral is worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Biscuit__BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Farm

Address: Wookey Farm Monks Ford, Wookey, Wells BA5 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wookey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing