We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burcott Mill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Wookey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burcott Mill”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Our hosts Louise and Steve were really friendly and sympathetic to our situation as we had a family funeral to attend. We stayed in the Old Mill Office which was spacious and clean and the super king size bed was so very comfortable , had a great nights sleep. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back under more happier personal circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroMacLand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We were very happy to look after your family group, at such a difficult and important time. We look forward to seeing you at a happier time. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
121
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Steve and Louise gave us a fantastic welcome when our plans had to change to due a tragic event. Nothing was too much effort and we got a bigger room so we could have the children if they stayed. As it is a working mill they took our Singaporean side of the family on a tour which they loved. Really special place to stay

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyinthefarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was lovely to have your family here just before Christmas. Thank you for your positive comments, and we hope to see again when visiting your extended family.
Louise French
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wooky is a great place from where to explore the Mendips. Staying in a working mill added to the charm. Breakfasts really great, locally-sourced including eggs from the mill's chickens, and home made bread from freshly-milled flour.

Room was spacious and cosy, with ensuite (good shower). Great to retreat to after long days out and walks. Lou and Steve welcoming and knowledgeable about what to see and do.

Three pubs nearby. Ring O Bells (village pub) shows sport. Burcott Inn (across the road) has selection of real ales. Love the fact that the mill also hosts the village Post Office.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyRoyalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. One chickens certainly appreciate your feedback on the free range eggs, and the miller is very glad you enjoyed the bread and mill tour! Hope to see yourselves and more visitors from Jersey in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just spent two nights at Burcott mill The accommodation and overall service was excellent Steve and Louise were great hosts and very accommodating they managed to squeeze in two extra for breakfast without any fuss The breakfast was excellent and the bread is something else (took home three loaves) The accommodation is in easy distance to all that is available in lovely Somerset would recommend it and a great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the homemade bread. Thanks for the review.
Lou and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the very first moment you meet Steve and Lou you feel special. We were in the stylish Hayloft room with a very comfy bed and powerful shower, TV and loads of DVDs and reading material. Then the home made bread and eggs from their own chickens made for a sumptious breakfast. Don't miss the mill tour; watch Steve grinding the wheat into flour. Some parts of the mill are 1,000 years old. Village pubs with skittle alleys and serving gigantic main courses just completed the experience. Well done the French family! Rosie and John.

Room Tip: We only slept in the Hayloft but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Rosie504169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review - glad you found it a comfortable stay...and enjoyed the breakfast and the mill tour. Looking forward to your next visit.
Lou and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only stayed one night but found the Burcott Mill a nice change from the busy hotels and shinny guest house scene. This is a family business run by two wonderful owners who work hard to please their guests. Unfortunately all the local pubs have the same night off of cooking dinner so it was a bit of a drive to find something to eat but we did return to the pub over the road for a beer and a nice chat with the locals.

If you are expecting the latest of everything go elsewhere, this is a very old property with the charm to match. It is a short drive to Wells, famous for its Cathedral and for where most of the movie Hot Fuzz was filmed! Breakfast was a real treat and was one of the best we have had on this trip. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your comments. Its a shame you were here on the night when none of our 3 village pubs serve food, glad you found a good option a little further afield!
Thanks again for taking the time to write the review
Louise and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Theres not much that I can say that other guests havent already covered. We had a wonderful stay at Burcott, Steve and Louise were amazing hosts. The room was lovely, the breakfast was amazing. Would strongly suggest doing the Mill tour if it is avaliable while you are there as we found it really interesting. We've raved about it enough to our families so we thought we might aswell rave on here too!! Thank you for making a lovely weekend even more enjoyable. x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - we really appreciate it!
Louise and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey
1.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#11 of 37 in Wells
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcott Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcott Mill Guesthouse

Property: Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Address: Mill House Wookey Road, Wookey, Wells BA5 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcott Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burcott Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing