We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fourth visit and first review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Wookey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a hard review to write. On the one hand we want to keep this little gem a secret (hence waiting until our fourth visit to write this), on the other, Louise and Steve deserve the acclaim for the wonderful place to stay, that they provide.

The location is, well, where it is. It is fantastic for walking (our particular pleasure), shopping, history, scenery, you name it the area has it in spades.

What sets Burcott Mill apart from the rest, is the simple comfort and welcome that many places seem to forget. Whether it was our first visit or our most recent this weekend, the welcome has been the same. Comfortable room, wonderful breakfast and a very real sense that this is our home away from home.

Add to this the freshly made bread, made from the freshly ground flour, the warm welcome and let's not forget the Guinea Pigs, this is a wonderful place to spend a weekend or indeed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your generous review.
We always enjoy seeing you both, and hope that we continue to live up to the praise you have given us! All the best and see you next time!
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 218 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved it the 1st time we came and loved it more this time. The room was a delight, Breakfast excellent as always. Steve and Lou are so welcoming, it is like coming home when you stay. We had our own personnel tour and talk around the mill at the end of our stay which was awe inspiring, Nice to know that the bread you are eating comes from the Mill you are staying at, and that a Mill as old as it is, is still working and loved by it's owners, Both Steve and Lou are constantly busy, but always have time to stop for a friendly chat about what you have been doing, places of interest you might like to visit. Can;t wait to go back in October, which is already booked. Hopefully we will be back sooner than this. Wonderful place to stay, wonderful area, lots of great places to visit at your doorstop. Who could ask for more :) luv Julie and Pete.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelllybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us again! I think you are the first to give us 2 reviews!
We are glad you enjoyed your 2nd visit, and we look forward to seeing you again in October.
Regards
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I would highly recommend Burcott Mill to anybody wanting to spend a quite weekend in country Somerset. The location is great (2 miles from Wells and about 7 from Glastonbury). The owner are very nice and friendly, the rooms are cosy and breakfast is excellent.

The only issue we experienced was slight leak on the ceiling but that did not spoil what was an excellent stay. I will like to visit it again in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphacento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Burcott Mill for one night and we were so pleased! The location is quiet in a pretty village close to Bristol and Wookey. The room was clean and very comfortable! We had a downstairs room which had a lovely sofa/lounge area - prefect for a cosy night after a busy day! Louise and Steve were very friendly and welcoming! We popped over to the village pub for dinner and they kept it open for us to have a few more drinks (they normally shut if there's no one there!) Louise and Steve were lovely and they opened the flour mill just for us to have a tour round! It was great to see the mill working and so kind that they went out of their way to show us! We bought Burcott Mill flour and freshly made Burcott Mill bread (yum!) before we left too. The local breakfast was delicious - a wonderful stay thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for your comments. We always appreciate people bothering to take the time to write a review after their visit to us.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and the flour and bread you took home!
Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from a short break without the children, and it was beautiful, we have stayed at the Mill before but this is the first time with the new owners.

They have made such a wonderful place even better.

Will definately be returning in the summer this time with the kiddies. Thank you Steve and Louise.

Room Tip: The Hayloft is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelliejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thanks Kellie for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both - and well done for managing to get a night's break away from the kids (wish we could do the same!).
I'm glad you like the changes we have made, its always nice when people return and notice what we've been up to!
Hope to see you with the family soon.
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for three night in October with my friend. We stayed in the ground floor room with our own door, it was spacious and clean. Louise and Steve were great host and the breakfast was amazing which was served with their homemade bread and all items were from local places. We also managed to see the mill in action before we left. Would recommend this to everyone and would stay here again, have already told my friends and family. Thank you Louise and Steve for a fab stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hi Tracy
Thanks for your comments - glad you ladies had a great stay.
Hope to see you again another time.
Regards
Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have stayed @ Burcott Mill twice this year & Both times we had a fantastic stay.Steve & louise are brilliant hosts.
Breakfasts set you up for the day! We bought home 2 of the delicious loaves & Have had orders to bring more home for family & friends next time we visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks for another great review - its always nice to have your family visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
2.6 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#9 of 37 in Wells
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcott Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcott Mill Guesthouse

Address: Wookey Road, Wookey, Wells BA5 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burcott Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Burcott Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing