We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service in restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wookey Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wookey Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Slow service in restaurant”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I came here for a meal with friends so cannot comment on the accommodation. The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere and the waiting staff were friendly. The food was nice, but overpriced for what it is. But the worst thing was the service. We had to wait 15 minutes after we sat down, just for someone to come and order our drinks. Then they took another 15 mins to arrive, and the night went on like that. We had three courses but there there for three hours! We didn't mind as we enjoyed the company, but I think that's really poor. Ok, it was a busy Saturday night but still.

So, maybe if you go on a week night and don't mind paying a bit extra then it's a nice place to eat and generally the standard is much higher than your average counrty pub.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    43
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We came expecting a high quality and quirky guest house... however rooms were clean but in a very tired state. All fixtures and fittings shabby and cheap and shower was a nightmare, the continental breakfast delivered to your room was not the great idea the website suggests, if I am paying £90 for a room I expected a little more. This guest house is overpriced and not worth the £180 I handed over for my 2 nights. On the positive side the staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Had a one night stay at Wookey Hole Inn, Fab place, Rooms were wacky, loved the idea of the contenental breakfast left outside your room in a basket.
Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you.
The best bit was the food, it was exceptional.
Will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviews503869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Defiantly not what you expect in a small somerset village, great food, great atmosphere, will be back again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smallfamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was our second visit to the restraunt, the food is good, but not exceptional. Perhaps as others have said a little over priced. The surroundings are pleasent and the staff helpfull, on the two occasions we have visited there have been a few large parties in, so a little noisy.
Will we be back?
Quite probably, if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudger1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

If I wrote a review each time we went to the Wookey Hole Inn, there wouldn't be room for anyone else's. But we just keep going back because it is utterly consistent; the welcome and service are extremely friendly and the food, now cooked by Mick, one of the Davey brothers, is always extremely good - creative and delicious. You will never complain of a lack of food - the helpings are generous. And the atmosphere is light, airy, friendly - perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I have been going to the Wookey Hole Inn for years and it never fails to impress. This week I took my wife and our family there for a birthday lunch. It's the first time we have all had lunch there, and if you haven't then you really should. While I consider evening meals at the Wookey Hole to be an occasional treat because of the prices, the same is not true of lunch. There is a fantastic selection of hot sandwiches (that word really doesn't do justice to what you get) with home made fries and the most delicious spicy mayo all at less than £10. I had a burger cooked to perfection, served with manchego cheese and parma ham on a ciabatta roll. Mmm.... The five of us came away with a bill for just £60 including drinks and a tip. I will definitely be returning for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyTheBikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
0.1 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
6.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wookey Hole Inn

Property: The Wookey Hole Inn
Address: High Street, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk, Rest and Play around the beautiful Mendip Hills of Somerset. Hotel, Restaurant and Bar offering a wide range of continental beer, local real ale and traditional cider. Enjoy freshly prepared food in a laid back environment then relax and chill out in one of the spacious double rooms, all with king size beds. Breakfast comes continental style delivered to your room in a basket to be enjoyed at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wookey Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wookey Hole Hotel Wookey Hole
The Wookey Hole Inn Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing