We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wookey Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wookey Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Popped in at 3pm for a drink and was greeted by a friendly guy who let me sample ales until i found the one for me ! Ended up staying for a couple more in great bar with lovely company .
We decided to stay for dinner and they realy step things up in the evening , great service , polite attentive staff , quality wine and possibly one of the best meals i have eaten , [ thanks chef ] . Will come back but will stay at the Inn this time , this unexpected little find made our bank holiday .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    43
    11
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
93
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the wookey hole hotel and read the the food was terrible so as others had recommended, we visited the wookey hole inn. Food was beautiful, and desserts were delicious too. For 2mains and 2desserts and 4 drinks it came to just over £50 which I feel is very reasonable considering the quality and taste of the food! Would def recommend a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank laurahardern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winster, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A lovely beer garden. However the food was so overpriced. These are London prices and a family meal would cost around £100 which for a bar meal is ridiculous. Same food please but lower the prices. Starters are around £8 , mains around £18 and pudding £7 plus expensive wine. To us this would be an anniversary treat not a midweek meal. We asked for two starters and a kids meal to lower the price and this did not go down well at all with the owner . She said she would have to ask to chef if that was ok!!! Wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of her! They agreed but obviously wanted rich customers only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Wookey Hole Hotel but read the food was poor so we walked the very short walk across the car park to Wookey Hole Inn. The food was amazing and we think reasonably priced for what it was. Would definitely go again and I don't usually recommend anything but would say try this place. It may seem more expensive than you'd usually pay at a pub but very reasonable for great restaurant food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird108red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here at the end of July 2013. Firstly I usually do not leave feedback unless I am very impressed or very disappointed, on this occasion I am pleased to say I am very impressed. On arrival we were greeted with a genuine smile and a warm welcome. We were then shown to our room which was very spacious and clean and asked if we would like a table for dinner, specified a time and there was no issue even though they were obviously busy. The bar was fab, well stocked with local beer and cider. The bar and dining area are clean, tidy and very quirky. looking around the place there are lots of random ornaments and pictures which adds to the character of the inn. The food is fab!! I have read reviews saying the food is pricey, this might be the case if you think dive through is the future. The meal was well presented and cooked to perfection. Would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: specify a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stay here frequently and they are very friendly, the rooms are lovely and the breakfast is great - just what you want for a romantic break. Last time we stayed, we raided their great video collection (available on the staircase) and watched horror movies all night. The bathrooms are lovely and I would recommend the lovely garden too. But what really makes it, is how nice the owners and staff are - they are very good natured and you feel really welcome. They are really happy to help and I would recommend this lovely little place very highly.

Room Tip: The one with the mermaid table is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissusTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We dined here, but didn't stay in the hotel.
There are negative comments in some reviews about the food being pricey. I think this depends on where you come from. If, like us, you are used to eating out in London and the South-East, the Inn seems quite reasonable.
We enjoyed dinner here. Good choice of well-cooked food, relaxed atmosphere, interesting range of UK and European beers, and friendly staff

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
0.1 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,024 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
10.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wookey Hole Inn

Property: The Wookey Hole Inn
Address: High Street, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk, Rest and Play around the beautiful Mendip Hills of Somerset. Hotel, Restaurant and Bar offering a wide range of continental beer, local real ale and traditional cider. Enjoy freshly prepared food in a laid back environment then relax and chill out in one of the spacious double rooms, all with king size beds. Breakfast comes continental style delivered to your room in a basket to be enjoyed at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wookey Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wookey Hole Hotel Wookey Hole
The Wookey Hole Inn Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing