We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wookey Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wookey Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped here for dinner over the easter holidays while staying at the hotel across the road. The lamb and chickens dishes we had were fabulous, presentation and taste far exceeding our expectations. The deserts were equally as good and portion sizes very generous.
Not cheap, but considering the quality and portion sizes it is definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Edjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely restaurant, very nice decor candles, budhhas etc. Just my kind of taste..
Really nice meal, quite expensive though.
We hadn't booked, I would advise you to..we were given a table but did feel that we were kind of sat in the middle of the room which was ok because the other diners were arriving just as we were finishing our meal, otherwise it would have been a little uncomfortable.
Good service..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rozzy731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fabulous food and amazing selection of beer; exciting and unique rooms & great staff- they really pay attention to detail and make you feel very relaxed...
Great ambiance and imaginative menu. The tables were beautifully decorated for Valentine's night. Superb inn- well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Each room is unique- submarine showers, mermaid tables with chess, leopard skins, orange & purpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stopped by here for lunch on our way to Wookey Hole, right outside so great location. As it was winter it was empty and we got to eat by the fire which was lovely. The food was nice, we had burgers so nothing crazy but it was delicious all the same!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went here with my son and some family rooms. My friend had made the booking and got us a very good deal at £57 for a family room and breakfast.

We got there late having had dinner on the way down. We struggled to open out the sofa beds - reception staff did not know how to do this - but luckily my friend's husband worked it out.

The room was large, well kept and modern.

We had breakfast in the Big Top room prior to spending the morning in the caves & complex. I felt the selection was fine & good value.

The only minor issue was that the bar area was pretty quiet & not particularly cosy - but they did have a nice big Christmas tree up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuwariahBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I love this place! I have been coming here for many years. We always receive a warm welcome. The food is superb and the atmosphere is always nice and relaxed. It may be slightly more expensive than the normal pub/restaurant, but this is not the normal pub/restaurant food. I would highly recommend the Wookey hole Inn and can't wait for my next visit there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank somersetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited here this morning as the food in wookey hole caves looked horrendous! It was a very pleasant surprise! We had turkey curry and a beef sandwich with chips. Both meals were divine! Slices of chunky hot beef in the sandwich and lovely potato wedges! My partner enjoyed his curry too! Owner/manager was really welcoming and we ate by the open fire which was lovely and cosy. If only all pub food was this good :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolgirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
0.1 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wookey Hole Inn

Address: High Street, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk, Rest and Play around the beautiful Mendip Hills of Somerset. Hotel, Restaurant and Bar offering a wide range of continental beer, local real ale and traditional cider. Enjoy freshly prepared food in a laid back environment then relax and chill out in one of the spacious double rooms, all with king size beds. Breakfast comes continental style delivered to your room in a basket to be enjoyed at your leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wookey Hole Hotel Wookey Hole
The Wookey Hole Inn Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing