We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The interior decor & the feeling is pure 1967, with the added benefits of great local real ale and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wookey Hole Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wookey Hole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The interior decor & the feeling is pure 1967, with the added benefits of great local real ale and excellent food”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Four of us went to lunch here on a sunny day in late March. It was a joy to find this place open (as the previous 3 nearby pubs we'd tried were all closed !). Their real ale was supplied by the local Glastonbury Ales. Two of us tried their Golden Chalice ale, which we both agreed was first class. The lunch of cold poached salmon with side orders of chips and salad was tasty, well presented and good value for money. The table cloths were heavy duty paper, and a large set of crayons was in prime position on each table. Create your own Art (or a boring business flow chart) over a meal and take it away - what a brilliant idea. The back garden (a bit too chilly for us to venture into) is large with 60s Statues and Mosaics abounding. Another plus is a decent car park just past the Inn on the other side of the road. This place also has rooms, which might be worth looking into, though we didn't.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyloNorwichEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWook, Owner at The Wookey Hole Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the poached salmon, it's proving very popular! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    43
    11
    13
    6
See reviews for
49
92
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Wookey Hole Inn for 3 nights towards the end of our month-long honeymoon across a good part of England and it was the BEST! We felt so at home in the Bohemian atmosphere and the food squashed any negative American chatter of English food - it was superb. After 32 days in England, we sent 2 postcards when back in Vermont - 1 to a fascinating fellow we met on our last night and the other to the Wookey Hole Inn! The Wookey Hole attraction was the most vintage attraction we have ever run into and didn't even mind spending one of the only warm sunny days inside. And then just a walk back to our inn? Lovely! We were tickled by the blue sparkle bathroom, the healthy breakfast basket, the low bed, and the huge selection of VHS tapes. It ALL hit the spot - we are determined to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTViber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWook, Owner at The Wookey Hole Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
It was great to meet you both! We're so glad you and Mitch enjoyed your stay during a very special time in your lives! See you next time you are the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingskerswell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2011

7 off us went great service,all meals from starters through to puddings very good.cheese board superb enough for two ,will return next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Well, where to start .... myself, my partener and the kids stayed at The Wookey Hole Inn over carnival weekend.

As soon as we walked in from the cold we were hit by the imense warmth of the open fire and welcoming bar staff. We checked into our room and went straight back down for hot chocolate in front of the fire. The owner and his family introduced themselves,and sat with us for a while, nice to see such a great place run by real people. We went to Wells carnival but were so wet we decided to go and make the most of the hospitality back at the Inn. As soon as we arrived back we were welcomed back in as if we were old friends. We had the most amazing food we've ever eaten! Even the kids food was amazing. We then sat chatting for an hour or so before going back up to our cozy room with the kids.

All in all, a wonderful place with wonderful people. We will definately be returning next carnival, if not before.

Thanks for the best weeknd guys.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driftwood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Meal was lovely, but not really the place to have a few beers in the evening (wookey hole social club 50 yards away caters better for this, with a pool table and skittle alley). Did have a nice garden and good selection of beers/ciders though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMackinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Surprised to read the review of 77jasmine77 my partner and I ate there on Friday night and had a wonderful meal . I had the cod which was perfectly cooked and my partner had the duck from the special board which he throughly enjoyed. The prices were not cheap but well worth it. Next time we are in the area we will defiantly be returning!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were not staying at the hotel but went to this restaurant on a Friday evening and, having ate there before, were hopeful of good meal.
The food on this occasion was awful, badly cooked, and very expensive. My husband had lamb which was very chewy and I went for roast cod wrapped in parma ham. The cod was undercooked and had a parasitic worm in it. I thought I was going to be sick! We should have complained but I felt so awful we just paid up and left.
I wonder if the establishment has changed hands? We will certainly not be going there ever again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Jasmine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
0.1 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,000 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
294 reviews
6.3 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wookey Hole Inn

Property: The Wookey Hole Inn
Address: High Street, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk, Rest and Play around the beautiful Mendip Hills of Somerset. Hotel, Restaurant and Bar offering a wide range of continental beer, local real ale and traditional cider. Enjoy freshly prepared food in a laid back environment then relax and chill out in one of the spacious double rooms, all with king size beds. Breakfast comes continental style delivered to your room in a basket to be enjoyed at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wookey Hole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wookey Hole Hotel Wookey Hole
The Wookey Hole Inn Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing