We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out......”
Review of Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole Caves
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A great day out......”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Told attraction has been around a long time. Clearly management are investing in site. Entrance price very reasonable. Caves interesting to see, although presentation by staff during visit inside caves cheesy and not at all informative. No sign of the Witch!
The circus show really good. By the looks of things they had the real Santa there the day we visited.

Food and drinks where cheaper than expected and good value. Lots of other things to do and see

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    813
    531
    322
    257
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Santaland 2013 much improved”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On Saturday 29th November 2013 during the Santaland event we visited Wookey hole caves as a family of four. This was our second trip to Santaland have originally visited in 2012 and in our opinion the event was much improved.

As part of the £12.50 per person entrance fee, as well as entrance to the caves and a trip to see santa which included reasonable gifts for the children, we were entitled to a round of pirate adventure golf, 20 penny's to spend in the pier arcade, access to the circus show, mirror maze and wizards soft play area.

This year the caves are tastefully decorated with in excess of 100,000 Christmas lights whilst the tour is guided by festive themed characters including santas elves and scrooge.

Whilst access to the caves is defiantly the highlight of the santaland package the circus show performed by the children of the onsite circus school comes highly recommended, especially the clowns which were a great hit with our children.

We would recommend the Wookey hole visitors attraction and associated Santaland experience to children and adults of all ages, including those that may have visited in the previous couple of years.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaileyA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A mixed visit which left the adults in our party feeling disappointed. I'm a local and have visited the caves around 10 times since childhood but like to revisit occasionally with the children or friends.
Our visit was on the last day of November and therefore during their "Santas Grotto" time of year. Unfortunately that seems to have spilt over into the caves tour itself and ruined the tour. The current owners seem to have forgotten what the caves are, a very fine series of geological marvels and the birthplace of cave diving. The tour was very light on any serious information and instead a badly acted and scripted Christmas themed elf tour. It was cringe-worthy, the poor, young actors themselves appeared embarrassed. It failed to engage either the children or the adults.
After the caves we were looking forward to the paper making demonstration but it was unmanned. The children enjoyed the oft play area and Victorian Fairground etc. The ice cream parlour was as normal -excellent ice cream at high prices with very indifferent service from the young staff who were busy discussing the fact that her boyfriend was trying to call on her mobile.
Every year on holiday we do various cave tours in the Perigord region in France and get to see how its done properly. Wookey Hole caves and perhaps British Society as a whole need not be afraid of science and learning. Try hiring some Tour guides that actually have a passion for geology and can share that passion.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Taking grandchildren and their mum to the caves was a really enjoyable day out, easy drive, free car parking and first day of Santaland, but we didn't go in there as it was an extra £12.50 EACH!. Entry prices were a bit steep, however the guided tour of the caves was interesting and the children were in awe of being underground! The elves, Scrooge, Cool Elf and Snow White were excellent guides. The outside entertainments were great - Dinosaur Park, Mirror Maze was amazing and leaves you not knowing where you are going. The circus show was tremendous, all young people performing fantastic feats, with unicycles, hula hoops, even cutting a girl in half, and making another one disappear. All good family entertainment.
Do take your own packed lunch and drinks. Lots of seating areas for those that do their own food. The food in the 'restaurant' was expensive and had been sitting around for sometime.
A good day out for the family, children I think should be 6 and over to enjoy it properly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing caves”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The caves are truly amazing, and well worth a visit.
I think the rest of the attractions seem a bit dated, and there could be more to do, but the caves and the people doing the cave tours were very good and has a great history to go with it. X x
Kids would enjoy x

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wookey Hole Caves also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing