We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to see”
Review of Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole Caves
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lot to see”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

as an Adult couple not sure what to expect, thought it would be limited time and attraction wise due to time of year, how wrong.
There is plenty of parking, for free, seemed a tadge expensive. taken around in group lots of children with their parents of all ages , by a young guy with an excellent sense of humour, dressed in a top hat. after that we exited out into a vast array of large animal structures and dinosaurs, which the children around us loved, something completely different from the usual cars was the circus display, and paper making, there is an arcade of my era's fruit machines which some children seemed very amused by, into a maze of mirrors ,a big play area for children, which was heaving, didn't stop for the circus show so no comment. the gift shop was full of trashy grot nothing apart from cheese to take back as a gift, and didn't play the crazy golf, would have liked too mind looked good. We were there two and a half hours.. if we had children it would have been a lot more. you have to leave buggies behind at the entrance to the caves as you exit another area

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fattybumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    823
    542
    328
    261
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wookey Hole”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The caves are a great experience. Tour lasts about 40 mins, the guide was very good with some amusing anecdotes. The caves obviously will be trickey for people with mobilty issues. The rest of the site is more catered around young children, although it is quite interesting for the young at heart. Book online for a discount on the price, I was pleasantly surprised.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“spend the day”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

6 of us went. 3 adults one learning disability one ten year old and one nearly 4.
Buy tickets online as you save 20% and the reference number is all you need no need to print. Firstly the cave is ok and guide was good. Wouldn't recommend for those unsteady on feet. After that a walk through dinosaur park which was ok. Then a history bit and some old fair stuff. 2 indoor jungle gyms for tye kids wall of mirrors cafe that we didn't use and pirate golf. Plenty to keep everyone amused fir the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul6fx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wookey hole attractions”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went during summer holidays, on a day that was forecast sunny, but ended up raining. The cave tour is about 30-40 mins and quite interesting, but can be tricky with toddlers or someone with mobility problems. It is dark and slippery in places. Inside the main building there is wood flooring, and it seems old fashioned. The children had a go at making paper, in the paper mill, and enjoyed that demonstration. We also played crazy golf, which was frustrating due to layout and design. The balls kept going out of the enclosure because of the gaps. The best part of the visit was the circus performance, which was very entertaining. Our time in the dinosaur park area was spoilt by the rain, so we didn't spend long there. Overall we were glad we didn't pay at the gate for admission, but used clubcard vouchers. Otherwise we would have felt it was poor value. Quite a hyped up attraction, but maybe more suited to families with younger children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jabeeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“caves”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very interesting to visit, the guides are very knowledgeable. Some steps to navigate so need to be steady on your feet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wookey Hole Caves also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing