We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hole”
Review of Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole Caves
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a hole”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the worst visitor attraction I have been to in the UK in terms of value for money. A complete and utter rip off. The caves are by far the best bit, but there are much better around. It is very rushed and there is very little to see and barely any history. The rest is a shambles. A filthy, depressing hovel that feels like it is just trying to squeeze the last few pennies out of its customers before it shuts it's doors. There is surely no investment or even cleaning going on here

Helpful?
2 Thank Tranmerems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    823
    544
    328
    261
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't visit on a wet day”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were in the area for the Jubilee weekend with our children, 8 and 3 years old. It was pouring down so we looked on the net for a day out which the rain wouldn't ruin, and happened upon the Wookey Hole Caves website, which promised a great day out whatever the weather.

It was very busy when we arrived, and we had to queue for about 20 minutes to buy our tickets. Some of this queuing time was not under cover, so we were quite wet by the time we paid our £49 for a family ticket.

Bearing in mind the promise of a great day out whatever the weather, we thought there would be ample opportunity to dry off. We were surprised therefore, to have a bit of a walk, followed by another half an hour to get into the cave. Again we were not undercover for about half of this time, so by this time we were soaked.

Okay, they couldn't cancel the rain, but why advertise this as an all weather attraction?

We got into the caves, and were shown around by a guide who was in a bit of a rush. She was obviously concerned about the battery life in her torch, and also by saving electricity by only putting on the lights illuminating the caves for very short times. She went on a bit about the tenuous story of a witch which was effective in scaring the kids even more than the dark did.

Then it was back to the rain. We walked through the fairy garden, which seemed to be a pretty area with a couple of stone statues of fairies. When we walked through the dinosaurs, and also a giant gorilla (couldn't quite work out how he fitted into the theme). These were grotty fibreglass still statues which were frankly laughable as we had not long visited the dinosaur exhibit in Chester Zoo, which featured lifelike animatronic dinosaurs.

We got into the indoor bit and had a disappointing lunch before deciding the try out the paper making. We got a disinteresting young lad, holding a mould and collecting some cotton pulp, passing this to our oldest, telling her to press down on the mould then scraping it all back into the tray of pulp. Apparently they had stopped making paper 4 years ago.

The website says, and I quote 'Visitors can watch the skilled Vatman and his assistant, the Coucher, making paper in the traditional way. Visitors can also have a go at making some paper themselves'. This is not true.

The children played in the indoor playarea, which was good but very packed. We then got good seats for the circus, so were happy, until they announced that the performance would be by children from the circus school, trying out what they learned. This was like going to a school performance, you would only actually be interested and impressed if you were a parent of one of the cast.

We then went into room with a model of a circus and other parts of a town. It was like some model making enthusiast had put it all together and needed a large room to store it. Odd.

There was then a strange indoor pier with a carousel which the children had a go on. The papermaking guy was by now manning this, and seemed confused, to the point of accepting a penny from one boy for a fifty pence ride. There was an old penny arcade which looked quite dull but at this time we were getting very claustrophobic and had to get out.

Never been so happy to get back to the car. Don't waste your money here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Growlithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wookey Hole”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel, lovely, could not fault it at all but the attraction itself was such a let down, especially the food, it was so expensive, the price of the hotel didnt even include breakfast, and we had to pay £5.50 for out 2 year old to have a continental breakfast, adults were £7.50, over priced. Overall overpriced for something that was really rather unimpressive. Wouldnt go back and would recommend.
It also had very poor services for babies and small children, no ramps not even for disabled.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TomandKerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gone bad!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I used to go quite frequently but in the last few years the prices have soared and it is now incredibly commercial. An expensive day out but caves are impressive.

Helpful?
Thank priddylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“entertaining”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wookey Hole Caves is is a entertaining place with plenty of things to do and see.
We used the sat nav to find it as there is a lot of country sinlge lanes to nagatiate on the way there.
The caves we're damp, low and slippery at times.
Small children we're found to be a bit scared at times during the tour.
There was a great bit of good information from the tour guide.
It was a great tour, but camera's with a flash couldn't be used.
After leaving the caves, there was other entertainment around the park to keep the children interested .
There is a circus within the ground, with children learning their trade.
They even put a show on. which was great.
The food and drink was expensive, so a picnic would be a better idea.
Would we go to Wookey Hole again ?
There are other places to see, and we have been to this one.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wookey Hole Caves also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing