We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Room no 7 on the ground floor is quiet and pleasant and a good size. Shame the Bistro didn't serve food, it would have been much nicer than going down the road to the rather tatty Captain Jacks Restaurant(with sticky tables and very uncomfortable seats).However the hotel is well located for the caves which are definitely worth a visit. The staff were generally helpful and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are a family of 5, so getting accommodation in one room is often impossible! At Wookey Hole Hotel it was no problem. Admittedly, we booked through another website as Wookey Hole refused to match the price, which I found strange! The room itself was bland. A magnolia heaven. However, we were only in it for washing and sleeping so it doesn't really matter. I think that they should consider putting mini fridges in all of the rooms, as this would make stays here more comfortable.
If you are a light sleeper the noise from other rooms might disturb you. We had a baby next door that spent the best part of the night crying....we actually felt sorry for the parents as we too have young children and there is nothing worse than a poorly baby! We don't mind noise.
The price of breakfast for children is ridiculous at £7.50 for cooked or £6.50 for continental. Especially as my children would have had a slice of toast and a bowl of cereal.
We went into Wells for dinner and got a take away from Chubbys which is awesome. We had lunch at the Bath Arms in Cheddar which is past the tourist places to eat. It was yummy. I would highly recommend them.
Also, there is very little to do in the evenings if you do not eat at Captain Jack's so bring something to keep yourself entertained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tinah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely stay at Wookey Hole Hotel. Room very clean and to a high standard, staff very helpful and plenty to see and do nearby. Wookey Cave is on site and a good day out. The food is good and with a good selection. Enjoyed by all and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 297Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Must be perfect for families. Food was basic. I had chicken which was 'factory' but expected same given the price. On reflection stay in Wells and drive here if wish to see the hole

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J2143X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is good value for money and very clean as it looks like it has recently been built.

The only glitches were the bathroom door did not close, a slight patch of dust in the corner of the bathroom tiles and an electric box which had a blue light which shines on the ceiling at night.

This is a family hotel so expect screaming kids until 9:00pm. Someone's car alarm went off twice in the early hours but this is not the hotel owners fault.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have now stayed hear on numerous occasions, It is fantastic value for money as I visit Wells on business as the company I work for are based there. During the week when it is not school holidays, I can get a room only for £39.99. The hotel is clean and the rooms are perfectly acceptable. The breakfast is very good plus a varied choice of evening meals which have always been very nice.

When you compare it to local hotels it is just as good but 2/3 thirds of the price so a very good option if you are visiting Wells.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyBoyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A very basic standard hotel, OK for families with young children. Guests requiring more comfort and a reasonable restaurant should go elsewhere. Dining room centred on Pirates and Witches giving a dark and dismal ambiance, resembling a cheap canteen! We had a dirty kettle in our room together with a suspicious looking shower-head, therefore no tea or shower in the morning. We avoided having breakfast following a poor evening meal and no allowance was made against the £102 charged for B&B. We were offered coffee whilst checking out but as the restaurant could not offer my wife de - caff the previous evening we declined the offer. A poor choice for us but there seems to be a market for this type of break !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
66 reviews
5.7 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $51 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing