We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, modern hotel in very pleasant village setting”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great family short break stay here over new year of 2014.
The Wookey Hole hotel sits in a pleasant location in the centre of the village after which it is named, overlooking the buildings and facilities of the popular cave attraction. As well as the Wookey Hole caves, the location is excellent for exploring the Mendips, visiting Cheddar, Glastonbury and the nearby city of Wells. The hotel looks like it was completed very recently and as a result all is bright, shiny and new. Furnishings and décor are simple and restrained (some might say plain or 'vanilla') although there is nothing restrained about the life-sized witch that greets you in the entrance lobby!
Do not expect five star luxury, plush old-school charm or chic and boutique. Think more in terms of a decent quality Travelodge, Premier Inn or Holiday Inn Express and you cant go wrong. The fixtures and facilities are no better but where this hotel scores over it's rivals is in terms of room space. A family of four has to squeeze into a standard room with most of those hotel chains (pull out the sofa-bed and say goodbye to the carpet!) but here the family rooms really are a good size for a family.
We stayed in the Luxury Family room - the one with the curvy balcony. The word 'luxury' might be a bit misleading in terms of furniture and décor but that 31m2 of space (plus balcony) is certainly worth the extra cash. Other first floor rooms have Juliette type balconies. The real star of the show is the Witch's hat VIP suite - a two storey tower at one end of the hotel with sleeping mezzanine over living space below.
A quick scan of the fire plan on the back of our door showed four other rooms on the first floor of similar size and more interestingly, five pairs of standard rooms with interconnecting doors. Now that is something that definitely appeals to us, with two growing children - a pair of interconnecting rooms from as little as £60 per night!
We ate in the restaurant which, whilst it won't win any awards, was more than adequate. It features a limited menu of simple dishes that are cooked well and nicely presented. No complaints about the price though the bar really could do with some draught beers.
We found all staff to be pleasant, helpful and courteous during our stay.
Our room was spotless, had a good firm bed (Queen-size?) and the shower was excellent - powerful and easy to use.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter though those at the front have the best view across village and Cave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y16amp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came here for family New Year's Eve fun, hotel basic but clean, staff all very pleasant. The celebrations for new year were on the whole very good value for money, children themed entertainment. The meal was plentiful and executed with very friendly staff. Captain sparrow and resident wooky witch kept us entertained. The fire works at midnight were very good.
Could do with a few changes to make this a better night, it all started a little too early, so that by 10 am the entertainment had all but finished , which then left just the disco before the fireworks, also we think it would be a better idea to place families on the tables before arriving, as people were going at 6 just to be able to sit together.
On the whole this package including caves,arcades,crazy golf,circus,wizard wonderland and more is very good value for money .

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel would have been good to see the fireworks from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to the Wooky Hole hotel as part of the "Santaland" package. The Santaland package was exceptional value and the visit to Santa and the cave tour and circus were all great and I would recommend just doing this and avoiding the hotel.
The hotel is very basic and is just bedrooms and a small bar serving food. On check in we booked a table at the restaurant and looked at the hotel information supplied in the room and decided what to have from a choice of steak etc. on arriving at the "bistro" we were told they were too busy and they wouldn't be serving food and our table was at the Captain Jacks restaurant in the Wookey Hole attraction. When we arrived there we were told they were only serving a carvery ( who wants a turkey dinner 2 days before Xmas?) or a pie or lasagne. It was late and we were tired so we stayed put ( and wished we hadn't) my wives lasagne was Luke warm and almost inedible. I had requested my pie with chips and it came with mash. Overall our restaurant experience was dire, poor food and rubbish service. Staff were confused and communication between the hotel and Wookey Hole attraction was almost non existent. The woman on the desk at the restaurant when checking our booking even proclaimed "communication is never very good in this place I'm afraid!" My view is if you are passing through there are better places to stay (cheaper and nicer too). I found this hotel to basic to recommend so won't be going back, however the Santaland package for £12.50 including Caves, Circus and Santa is very good value and highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank andypud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked the hotel online as we wanted to be close to the nearby attractions of the caves and as part of a whistle stop visit of the area.
The hotel staff were all very pleasant, polite and helpful, they had good knowledge of the area and were willing to share this with us.
The hotel its self was clean and tidy both the exterior and interior, the room was comfy and had everything you might need.
We ate dinner that evening in the restaurant it was priced affordably and was very good. We enjoyed a great nights sleep and breakfast the following morning was plentiful and as in the evening very good.
All in all we would stay here again and can recommend it to adults with or without children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJG1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Witch's Hat Suite with our children aged 5 & 2 and they had a great time. The photo's on the hotel website don't do it justice, it is actually a double height turret shaped room with a sitting room on the ground floor and a double bedroom with en suite on a mezzanine floor. Obviously this layout was a lot of fun for the kids.

There are sofa beds in the sitting room but we actually used fold up beds that the hotel has to provide extra beds in family rooms. Be aware that it is best to arrange this in advance or at least on arrival as they don't have a housekeeping team available in the evening.

We stayed at Whitson and had a package including breakfast with the Witch of Wookey Hole which the children thought was great.

We stayed as a stop-over en route to a holiday in Devon and allowed time to visit the Wookey Hole caves the morning after our stay - also included in the package.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel as a place to stay for families.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BungleBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed twice in December whilst visiting Wells. Lovely area. Room is comparable to a premier inn only issue was no mobile signal on ground floor room upstairs was ok. Breakfast is better if you opt for vegetarian.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived at wookey hole on Saturday morning for my 4 year old sons santaland experience. We got in the queue for the ticket office (our confirmation told us to get our tickets from the ticket office or hotel reception) after queuing for half an hour we were told we had to get them from reception. Bit annoying but off we popped to get our tickets from reception. While there I asked the guy behind reception about our evening meal. At the time of booking I was lead to believe our evening meal was included ("evening meal will be served in the big top resturant") I was informed this was not the case and that it wasn't worded very well,it was just informing you of where you could eat!!!! Thinking we were paying a price that included this I don't think we got value for money at all. So we ended up booking a table. The cave tour was good although staff seemed to just want to get it over and done with. The circus was by far the best part of the day. The 2 guys who host it are very funny. Queued for an hour and a half to see santa,trying to keep a 4 year old entertained for that long is no mean feat.Apart from all the queuing the experience at wookey was ok.
We checked into the hotel and was plesantly surprised. We booked a basic family room and it was spotless.Sofabed was already made up and plenty of room although there was a flourescent yellow stain on the quilt cover. We went to the bar & get our drinks & enquired about our table only to be told it was in the big top resturant in wookey hole and the bar doesn't serve food weekend evenings. There are a few places to eat & all a bit confusing.Got there and they were only serving christmas dinners. Luckily they were doing the usual kids food but if we had have known it was only carvery for adults we'd have driven somewhere else. Food was good non the less. Arriving back at the hotel and getting ready for bed all we could hear were kids running around. The walls certainly are paper thin and wouldn't really bother me but it was all night. That combined with the 3am wake up call from a couple having a domestic in the corridor. We upgraded to to a full english breakfast and wish we hadnt bothered,not particularly nice and you get what they give you.Its not help yourself.Just a few little things adding up that made this a bit of a rubbish stay.Unfortunatley we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
333 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
67 reviews
5.7 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $51 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing