We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic value for money break”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently had a two night stay in the Wookey Hole Hotel. Really clean, modern and friendly. Two nights was perfect. The children weren't bored once. So much to do. Food was ok but we decided to eat out the second night. Other than that it was brilliant for kids. Highly recommended. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights to break our journey up. It was the best decision. Lovely big room, spotlessly clean, peaceful surroundings. Would have preferred to eat in the building but we ended up popping over the road to the Inn. Fab food.
We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scriven-Purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Yes, the room was spotlessly clean but quite bland. Hardly 'luxury' as billed in the room's description anyway. We had booked a 'luxury family room' for 2 adults and a child, age 11, but on arrival we found that the family room (no. 54) was down to have only 2 adults in it! So consequently, there was no third bed set up. No worries, I'd just mention it on our way back out to explore the area..... oh, you would have thought that I'd asked for an extension to be built on the side! "You want someone to actually fold the bed out for you?" I "actually" would have liked it if the room was set up as I had requested! And for £115 for room only, I didn't think that was too much to ask, I certainly didn't think I should have been made to feel like an ogre for asking ! Not my job to be folding out a z-bed and making it up after a reasonably long journey!!!!

I couldn't bear to ask for more towels so we managed with towels for two.....

We hadn't been warned either that the restaurant was closed for the summer. Dinner was fine because we went to the nearby Wookey Hole Inn which was excellent and highly recommended. Breakfast however was to be down the road at ' Jack Sparrows' (part of the bolt-on cave entertainment). Not great ambience but to be fair, the food was a reasonable standard, if a little pricey at £7.50 for cooked breakfast that you get served canteen-style. Would have liked to have been warned that there was nowhere to get food in the hotel itself.

Apart from the receptionist that checked us in, all other dealings with staff was much more pleasant.

Great location for caves and peaceful at night. Can also recommend a look in the church which is quaint and well looked after.

Room Tip: Room 54 on first floor, just to right of the 'witch's hat' , was large and had a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is our second stay here, We wanted to stay somewhere to break up our journey to devon/cornwall. The hotel staff were polite and friendly on arrival. We pre-booked a family room, 2 adults and a cot (our own). The room was big in size, clean and not much we could moan about.

If you want somewhere to stay for a couple of days to see wookey hole or cheddar gorge and your doing it on a budget then this hotel is perfect. Cheap, clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mills2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for one night. Had a friendly welcome upon arrival and found the room to be clean, comfortable and of a good size. The room had all the essentials, although the bath towels (whilst covering what they need to cover) could have done with being a bit bigger! We had a room at the back which was quiet - until early morning when children started running and shouting in the corridor - but that's not the fault of the hotel - Parents please take note!! Bit of a walk across the road for breakfast - but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good and plentiful, once again staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (away from the car park) which was quiet and had a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLN666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 year old who loved it. I would visit the centre again as she loved it but the hotel was a little bleak. Cleanish but very basic. Our rooms were not cleaned between the two nights and the duvet was thrown across the bed in an attempt to make it. The food was school canteen like with the usual burger,pie etc choices. The bar in the evening was especially bad and depressing, like where you might go after you'd just been dumped to drown your sorrows. Overall our daughter enjoyed it and that's about all I can say.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place room was very nice and clean. But I did not like the fact you had to go over to captain jacks to eat and it was not just down stairs. Over all very good value for money . The staff where all very helpfull and the free DVD hire was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboymillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
66 reviews
5.7 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $51 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing