We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & clean”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for one night. Had a friendly welcome upon arrival and found the room to be clean, comfortable and of a good size. The room had all the essentials, although the bath towels (whilst covering what they need to cover) could have done with being a bit bigger! We had a room at the back which was quiet - until early morning when children started running and shouting in the corridor - but that's not the fault of the hotel - Parents please take note!! Bit of a walk across the road for breakfast - but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good and plentiful, once again staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (away from the car park) which was quiet and had a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLN666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 year old who loved it. I would visit the centre again as she loved it but the hotel was a little bleak. Cleanish but very basic. Our rooms were not cleaned between the two nights and the duvet was thrown across the bed in an attempt to make it. The food was school canteen like with the usual burger,pie etc choices. The bar in the evening was especially bad and depressing, like where you might go after you'd just been dumped to drown your sorrows. Overall our daughter enjoyed it and that's about all I can say.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place room was very nice and clean. But I did not like the fact you had to go over to captain jacks to eat and it was not just down stairs. Over all very good value for money . The staff where all very helpfull and the free DVD hire was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboymillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Booked last minute on-line and got a really good rate for dinner and cooked breakfast. On arrival really surprised to find our room was really large, even with the extra child bed, there was still plenty of room. We had a broken chair, the previous guest had also very unkindly stole the batteries out the remote!! However, once reported to reception, the man there came up-to our room within 5 minutes to sort it out. Also bringing more sugar and milk as not enough for three of us. The beds ( a little lumpy) where fine for 2 nights. The room was super quiet which is good for me, as a very light sleeper. On the second night after a large thunder storm the room was very muggy, I rang reception at about 10.30pm to ask if they had a portable fan, again fantastic, one was brought up within 5 minutes even though late at night. We had windows open all night, very safe. For breakfast you go to Jacks restaurant across the road, even though it was raining not a problem as hotel supply a bucket full of umbrellas for you to use, really appreciated for our summer weather :-) Breakfast was great, continental and Also full English with quality meat sausages, no cheap stuff here! Had a lovely greeting from the witch of wookey too. Fab place to stay, buy your tickets online for the caves though as much cheaper than through the hotel, then eat at night in the restaurant and get free golf, play barn etc..great evening entertainment for the kids. Jack the pirate was great too, and the kids circus was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in 34, first floor. at back of hotel but quiet as housekeeping room either side so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allijo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was just perfect for our two night stay, could not be faulted, friendly staff, good access to Wookey Hole Caves and Attractions, excellent value for money, clean facilities. We will be re-booking later in the year - what more can I say. Thank you for making our short stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CIAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is offers great value for money . It has the feel of a chain hotel aimed at the family market. Clean, Very quiet, Nice all round stay i would defiantly use this hotel as a cheap base if i was staying in area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room which was one of the only rooms left. The room was large and had French doors and a juliet balcony which was lovely in the warm weather. Staff were great and helpful and the breakfast was very nice. We'd paid to include breakfast and this set us up for the day.
We ate in the restaurant on one evening and whilst busy, the food was good quality and very tasty.
This isn't a boutique hotel, it's a good family hotel, well maintained and great location.
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
337 reviews
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
678 reviews
5.7 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $51 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing