We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirate night a hit!”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked an overnight stay and an evening with Jack Sparrow and his pirates. We arrived early and check in wasn't until 3 pm, were pleasantly surprise to be given our package tickets to all the attractions.

We headed strait to the caves, beware down side if u have a pram make arrangements to leave in the shop ECT as when u get to the cave top and leave ur pram at the end of the tour u have to send hubby all the way back up to get it haha!

The cave tour was fab everything u could expect catered to the young with a lil adult humor for fun, the floor can be slip and not suitable for disabled pr those with mobility issues, but I think u can watch the tour if u ask!

When ur done u get into the dinosaurs, circus memorabilia and papermaking all things I remember when I was young just modernized for today's audience. On the holiday package we had we were given tokens for the old time circus,which was fun in a good old fashioned way.

The circus show by local children was out of this world, my 8yr old now has new hobbies to explore, their passion and dedication should be credit to them they were wonderful.

The pirate night was something never done before but I have to say the food, entertainment, customer service and attention to detail, not to mention the fab Captain jack who engaged with ever one there, was Brill. Well done, we will be back.

Our room was basic like a holiday in, only down side is small bathrooms, when u have lil mosters like we do u need some maneuverability, but u can work around it.

Unfortunately when we were there some silly sod had an issue with the fire alarm and we had some extra entertainment at 1, but it didn't spoil our time. Well done Wookey hole we had a blast :P

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyRhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Wookey Hole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The rooms were basic but spacious and spotless. The food was better than we expected from previous reviews. Pub Grub, but nicely cooked and presented. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. A local taxi driver advised that the ''Pub up the road'' was to be avoided, being a 'rip-off''

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The bedroom and en-suite were clean and tidy very comfortable bed and peaceful surroundings ensured we had a good night's sleep. Dinner was quality I would expect from a premier inn but very eatable for all that. The staff in the dining room were really rushed off their feet as the pub across the road was closed, but our waitress Natalie was very pleasant and always ready with a smile at both dinner time and breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Anne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel seems quite new, and is as it states set up for families, although there is no discount on offer to hotel guests if they wish to visit the attractions, which I think would make it much more appealing to potential guests, our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, although a bit basic, but that's what you expect for the money, the bathroom was big but the sink was tiny and there was no shower, which on the hottest day of the year so far was a big minus point, we arrived an hour before check in and where told by the young lady on reception that the room wasn't available yet , and when my wife asked if we could just fill in the paperwork and wait in the bar she still maintained that we would have to wait before we could sign in, a bit unnecessary if you ask me.

Room Tip: there is no air conditioning,( not in our room anyway) but first floor rooms have a slight balcony a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darkhorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night at the Wookey Hole hotel before visiting the cave and it was OK. The rooms were OK and service was OK. As we only paid £60 peer night for B&B I wasn't really expecting more than that.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the on site restaurant and both experiences were slightly chaotic, breakfast especially was a little shambolic with arguments between a guest and the (only) member of staff working as to if a particular egg was fried or poached (it was poached) followed by an argument with another customer over if he was in room 29 or not (He was, but his food had been put through twice) the coffee machine was a basic percolator that was ill equipped to handle the amounts of coffee that was being requested (the quality of the coffee was very poor) and the restaurant has a strange system where they use your room number to identify your table by placing a square with your room number standing on it, I assume this is so you can see at a glance which rooms are currently empty if you fancy a spot of B&E.

My favourite feature of this hotel is their lift which sounds like a suicidal android, but they also have a DVD library which can be good if you want something to watch. You can also pick up a 50% off voucher for the caves so pick one of them up from reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelingM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were welcomed by Keith at reception, very polite and very informative and a welcoming smile that relaxed us after a 3 hour drive. In the morning we were served by Jimmy again very polite a very cheery chap, always happy, the food was excellent but would suggest more of an evening menu. Natalie was our waitress for the evenings and she was very pleasant, polite and like everyone working there good fun to be around (if we were staying longer than the three days we may have struggled, personal preferences may have restricted our limited menu). The Wookey hole is a very short walk to the entrance from the hotel. Highly recommend to anyone who is thinking of a break with sites. Plenty to do and see for all the family. Free Wifi which was fibulas.

Room Tip: By far a very good place to rest for the night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'd like to say thanks to everyone at the hotel for making my stay over the glastonbury weekend as easy as podssible. It was a last minute thing for me deciding to stay outside of the festival site. The hotel is about 5 miles from the site and taxis are very friendly also. Anyway back to to the hotel. Thew place is FULL of friendly staff who even went out of their way to add an extra night to my stay as i got stranded due to friends leaving without me. They swapped about other rooms so i could stay in the same room i was in all weekend without having to move.

The place is great - staff are friendly so thanks to all. regards. Joe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $59 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing