We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for overnight stay”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Chilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for overnight stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 1 night, to start our Wookey Hole adventure early in the morning. Basic room, quite spacious, bed average, had a sore back after a night sleep; however it didn't dump our spirits to explore Wookey Hole, Wells and Cheddar. Good base for exploring and price was reasonable too

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    382
    173
    52
    33
See reviews for
466
331
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room large and clean, and quiet. Good value at £65 per night. Facilities cover all the basics and is "ok". Bathroom clean, large, and in Travelodge style. Powerful shower. Ideal hotel for a 1 night stay, but probably not much longer.

Arrived at 2:15pm and was fairly abruptly told that check-in was 3pm, with absolutely no flexibility as none of the rooms were clean yet. We were mid-way between a wedding ceremony and wedding reception, and the receptionist clearly had a "rule book" and didn't even consider making a call to housekeeping to see what was available. He wouldn't call a taxi for another guest either, but would only give the number. Not massive points, but the lack of flexibility was disappointing for an independent hotel that could stand out if service was above average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

great location,very picturescue, great large room,lovely bathroom and easily operated shower, good free parking, served breakfasts and meals, it has a witchy theme that might have an appeal for kids in holiday times but was quiet for us, have you picture with the large witch statue at the entrance, free wifi with hotels own supplied computers

Room Tip: rooms are assigned before you get there ours was great at the back but you can always ask to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a fantastic two night stay at this hotel and will be returning to stay again in the future. Great base for exploring somerset, the rooms were spacious and clean and had everything we needed and the price was really reasonable. Friendly staff, comfy beds and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devoniadumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here as we were watching the Wurzels at the Wookey Hole Theatre.
The room was clean and large. The bed was quite small in comparison and was a bit lumpy. The bathroom was clean and Travelodge style as others have noted.

All in all can’t complain for a one night stay and it is super convenient if you are sampling the delights of Wookey Hole!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for one night following a day of adventure in the caves and papermill. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and pleasant. I thought it was a wonderful place with amazing countryside surrounding it. I have recommended this to several friends, particularly those with kids and would happily venture back that way!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was great, very clean and tidy. Bed was extremely comfortable. Great value for money! Food was very good too. Only negative was the restaurant was quite warm but other than that a fantasticplace and will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing