We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is our third stay at Wookey Hole Hotel and it didn't disappoint again. We have only ever stayed for 1 night but have always been very pleased. Our room was a twin room including breakfast for £53.99 our room was very spacious and looked out over the car park. It was spotlessly clean. Plenty of storage/hanging space. Towels are provided as are tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer. All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. It's an excellent place to stay if your visiting the caves and everything that goes with them. Is also close to Wells, Glastonbury and Cheddar Gorge so would make an excellent base if your exploring for a few days. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we had arranged to eat elsewhere but the menu is very good value for money and there is something for everyone with a good kids menu as well. All in all we have enjoyed our stay every time and wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter than those overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devondizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    355
    154
    49
    28
See reviews for
434
296
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

After my previous review on the caves visit I find there is no place to review the hotel! :-(
So I will review it here.

We booked in to our room at 3pm today, a spacious family room with a good double bed, a double sofa bed and a proper camp bed for our family of 5.

There were plenty of tea and coffee making facilities, a great shower and fantastic bath which the kids used before we went into the Bistro for evening meal.

There is Free DVD rental of well over 100 movies for all ages (£10 refundable deposit) which the kids made good use of and also Free Internet computers in the Lobby which my 9yr old daughter didn't leave due to her 'moshi monster' infatuation which meant a peaceful evening for us!

We booked our table for 6pm and were served promptly and politely.
The meals are approx the same price and regular pubs and restaurants we have visited and the food can only be described as absolutely gorgeous!!

I will go on and on about just how lovely the food was and cooked to perfection! It's not often 3 children eat every single bit of their food and ask for more!
We didn't eat deserts as we had really eaten well but the ones we did see looked Devine! I would highly recommend a Bistro visit even if your not staying at the hotel.

Our room was lovely and clean and more than adequate for five people, there was plenty of clean linen and towels for us all and every one of the hotel staff are lovely!
Well worth a visit and we will def be returning soon! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Speedwaybabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in mid January. The hotel was really pleasant. The rooms were standard but spacious, comfortable & clean. The bathroom was spacious, clean and much better than most hotels in the UK you would find at this price.

The only negative I have about this hotel is the food. It was just bad. I don't think it's the chefs fault at all. It's not the way it is cooked, it is what is cooked. Cheap ingredients. It is hard to mess up a burger, but the one I has tasted very processed and cheap, truly. I'm sure though that the hotel will fix their menu soon.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Wells, Cheddar or are in this area. Friendly couteous staff, nice accomodation and you can eat elsewhere until they fix their menu. Thumbs up on this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunGod-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a package deal for one night to see Santa. We had a family room with sofa bed for 2 adults and 2 children aged 4 and 6.

What's good: good value overall and on site location perfect for Wookey hole visit.

What's not so great: room cleanliness wasn't great- rubbish left under sofa bed. The room is very basic and sofa bed had a thin mattress.

Be aware of: the sofa bed which makes this a family room is low quality so I would not suggest kids older than 6 to be sharing it comfortably.

Nice touches: the rooms have DVD players and you can borrow from a decent library at reception for free.

Overall: we got this on a good value package deal so were not fussy about the room. If you set your expectation to travel lodge style then it should not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristol062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really nice stay. Big clean rooms and excellent value for money. Dinner was really good too and excellent value for money. Free parking and excellent proximity to many attractions.

I will definitely be returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jf102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the second New Year's Eve we have spent at Wookey Hole hotel. It is extremely good value and I would recommend it to anyone. The staff are hard working and friendly. This year the magician was a little tiring and it was a relief when the disco came back on, although, he plays a great Capt. Jack Sparrow.
To get a good table you have to turn up early, and this makes for a long night. A continental breakfast is included, although we opted to 'upgrade' to a cooked breakfast for a small cost. I would get down early for breakfast as the queue can be very long

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel, the staff are very friendly and will do anything to accommodate your requests. The food again was fantastic, although we didnt have the breakfast this time around. he hotel was fairly busy even though it was January and that may have something to do with the price that we paid for two nights..excellent value for money and will definitely return very soon for another weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing