We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely time, great value package.”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
West Berkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a lovely time, great value package.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel was a standard "travel lodge" type. Clean, modern, comfortable. Kettle, tea and coffee, TV with DVD player, bath with shower. My moan - no hairdryer, husband's moan - no biscuits! That was the full extent of our complaints so really very good.

Children slept on pull out sofa bed, which was fine for a night or two.

We did the "Santaland" package and I was very pleased with the value for money, Father Christmas was great, present not the best I've seen but children were pleased with it. We saw the Christmas Circus and it really was the highlight - fantastic.

We had our lunch in the snack bar, which was fine but a bit pricey for what it was.

We had carvery in the evening, I had booked a table in advance, at the Big Top restaurant (which is in the main Wookey hole attraction, a 2 minute walk from the Hotel). The was really good, big portions, wide choice of food for the children, good value for money, family fare. 10/10 for this.

When we'd finished dinner, back off to the amusement arcade/softplay part of Wookey hole and played until about 9.30 pm. Watch out for the mirror maze - challenging after a glass of wine!

Mustn't forget the actual caves which were spooky and atmospheric. We all loved them.

I'd love to go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same (we were a party of 4 families). Our rooms were at the end of a corridoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    377
    166
    51
    30
See reviews for
455
323
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed one night. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent. We did not stay for breakfast. Would definitely recommend and hopefully stay longer next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

To be fair, the purpose of this hotel is not really to accommodate lone business travellers (as I was on this occasion), but I booked it because it seemed good value for money and was close to where I needed to be. The hotel appeared, unsurprisingly, very much geared to families visiting the Wookey Hole attraction and is positioned adjacent to the entrance. The interior is clean and well appointed throughout, with 'witches' embossed on pretty much everything including the curtains which reminded me of my mother-in-law's house. The hotel is easy to find, plenty of parking, and I paid £35 for a room only deal. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated (if you like witches) and very quiet. The bar area and restaurant is quite nice, a sort of very 'up-market Little Chef' arrangement. Although I did not need to eat in the hotel that evening, I paid an additional £7.50 for an excellent full english breakfast which was plentiful, nicely cooked and presented. The only downside to the eating experience in the morning was that around 8am there were quite a number of Wookey Hole attraction staff sat at tables playing loud music and videos on their iPhones which lasted for the entire time I was sat at my table. To me, this appeared to be what happens in the mornings as it looked like a regular meeting place. However, whilst that sounds a bit like Victor Meldrew, it would not prevent me from staying there again, and is the only criticism I would have. The girls on the reception were very pleasant as were all the staff I spoke to. Not the best I've stayed in, and nowhere near the worst, and of course for £42.50 including breakfast you shouldn't expect much more. If you are a family looking for a base, this is a great place to stay. Mind you, I wouldn't have been saying the same things if I'd paid the pre-discounted price of £80.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 28 which is a very well-appointed family room ; quiet, clean, with the larger windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here on a Groupon deal with my wife and 3 kids (12,9 & 6). Hotel is fairly new and modern if a little soulless. We arrived at 9pm after a 4 hour drive (after school) reception staff were OK but not particularly welcoming, room was clean and big enough for a night for our family but the beds were very uncomfortable particularly the sofa bed. There was a lot of noise until after 11pm caused by children running up and down the corridor, probably not the norm but aggravating all the same. We thought breakfast was very good with plenty to eat and well cooked, couldn't comment on evening meal as they stop serving at 9pm so we missed it.

Wookey Hole as an attraction was really good and I'd recommend it to anyone. We had lunch at the Wookey Hole Inn just down the road and it was excellent and the staff very friendly. Would probably look to stay there if we go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren-dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel earlier this year for a wedding in the area. Comfortable rooms that were clean and the staff were polite and proffesional but not really friendly. The dining area for breakfast is opposite the hotel and is more like a transport cafe than what you would expect to find in this type of hotel. Location is pleasant and it has plenty of car parking space.

Room Tip: Try to get one that does not look onto the car park / main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

hi just tapped in new years at wookey hole and saw some reviews somewhere i would just like to say we had a fantastic time on new years eve and thought it was fantastic value for money wedidnt take the children but a couple of friends ,didnt know what to expect but wow fab intertainment and staff and the food and fireworks brilliant, we want to go again this year with the children as they will love it as there are not many places you can go with kids on new years eve, we hope its on this year as i havent seen any advertisment well done wookey hole ,we didnt stay at the hotel as we live near by but are considering it this year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed 3 nights at this excellent hotel the staff were brilliant, the room very spacious and spotlessly clean, we used the restaurant in the evening the menu was varied and food delicious, breakfast was a feast,couldn,t fault the hotel , only whinge is guest's standing at the entrance smoking , while other guest have to walk through the smoke haze they create, perhaps they should be asked to smoke away from the entrance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyblue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
298 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing