We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel, next to attraction.”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family friendly hotel, next to attraction.”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. No raised eyebrows when our son decided to play up at dinner because he was tired after traveling! The milk we brought with us in a cooler had gone off, and our toddler enjoys milk before bed. The staff were helpful in providing us some.

Large portion in the restaraunt, my partner and I both enjoyed our meals. Good selection on the menu with varying prices from just under £14 for an 8oz steak, to around £6 for a jacket potato with filling. I expect most tastes would be catered for. The childrens menu was around £8 and included burger, chicken pieces or sausage with chips, mash, beans or peas. The children's meal would have been plenty for me! Would have been nice to see fish fingers perhaps?

Room was plenty big enough for us with two travel cots with room to spare. Cots all set up as requested upon arrival. It was a bit noisy around 8ish when the kids in other rooms were starting to go to bed, and we could hear some little ones shouting and charging around in the room above us, but it wasn't enough to really bother us - I guess you need to expect this with the hotel being aimed at the family market.

We got an offer through Groupon, so it was good value but I wouldn't want to pay the price advertised on the website if I'm being totally honest.

The hotel in general and the room was very clean.

Breakfast included the normal continental offerings, you could buy a cooked breakfast for extra.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiBunny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    372
    161
    50
    29
See reviews for
450
315
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent a lovely weekend at this location. Although I don't have children, I could see it was enjoyable for the children I saw! There is enough to do and the people are lovely!

I am already planning to go there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stopped over on the way back from Cornwall and had a family room with double bed and double sofa bed for our 4 year old. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We went to see the Wookey Hole attractions the next day and enjoyed the mirrors and dinosaurs and the crazy golf. In contrast to some of the reviews here, we found the food at the hotel to be far superior to that at the Big Top restaurant. We had our evening meal and cooked breakfast at the hotel restaurant and thought both were excellent and that the serving staff were very quick and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed - I couldn't fault it. We were very pleasantly suprised and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The outside of the hotel looks lovely and the our room was very clean, bit like a premier inn but it was a lot cheaper!
The only niggle we had was the amount of noise from outside and in the halls.
We didn't eat here so cant comment on that, but would stay again for the price and they lovely area its in.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel, as the front is on the car park and windows let in a lot of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

ended up in the wookey holes due to having to escape the awful pontins!!! it was lovely and clean, quiet big rooms.safe so helpful friendly and did anything they could to help us with our stay!!it was a life saver, attraction was great fun to prob slightly better fro older kids but we all had fun!!kids loved the wookey hole fun packs!!!the only let down was the evening meal we had food was ok but not great kids were happy with theirs though!!all in all a great family friendly hotel with excellent adjoining rooms so adults can have some kids free time for excellent value to would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: we had adjoining rooms which was excellent all 3 kids in one and us adults our own brilliant!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having booked at the last minute, we were not expecting anything special. Visiting the caves and attractions were our priority and we had the tickets included in the package booked. Hotel was extremely clean and bright, if very bland and Premier Inn like. The problem was the evening meal. We had been asked if we wanted to book a table at registration. We sat down at 7.10pm and had we not enquired at 7.50pm if someone was going to take our order, we would still having been waiting. This happened to another family who realised no one had taken their order at all having been sat down for 1 1/2 hours, they were advised to go to the pub! We eventually received our meal at 8.50pm which with children aged 5 & 7 is not on. The majority of the staff were very apologetic and praise to Sophie for taking time to talk to us and resolving our complaint. This could be an excellent, good value family hotel. But please employ staff who are able to do the job, the lady running the restaurant that night had no idea and was rude when my husband had the temerity to complain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 284Charlotte_W_12284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stopped here for a night en route to Cornwall and were pleasantly surprised. With it being a 'themed' hotel I was not expecting much! But our room was big, clean and roomy even with a travel cot and single bed for the kids. The staff were great and let us into our room before the official check in. Wookey Hole is good and our 2 year old loved dinosaur world and the hall of mirrors.

The carvery was what you would expect as was the breakfast, fine and functional. Would definitely consider stopping here again if the need arised.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jase_Cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing