We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple,no frills but you pay for location”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Simple hotel, nothing special.
Food was not anything to write about,but they served with a smile.
Rooms were clean,but too hot and no view at all.
Front desk staff did not seem particularly interested in helping and there was no wifi while we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowmancraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Wookey Hole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our short break at the Wookey Hole Hotel in April, chosen mainly for its location to Wells Cathedral, Street ( Clarks Village ) and the Caves.
The location is ideal for Wells which is some 12-15min away by car or use the Webber bus service, no.670, which goes from the hotel car park direct to bus station, taking the same time. The service runs at 1 or 2 hourly intervals.
Car parking is free and adequate.
The hotel is modelled on the Travelodge / Premier Inn design but with slightly larger rooms all with just one colourless scheme - beige.
Our room was at the top floor and front which offered a view over the car park to Wookey itself and the hills beyond. Looking at the rooms to the rear, which if you are offered, suggest you ask to be re-located as the view out is just an earth embankment.
The room was clean and spotless, although being a relatively new building ( less than 12 months ) this should be as expected. Heating was by an electric wall heater which did not give the desired level of control - being either too hot or two cold.
The bathroom was pleasingly well lit and had an electric towel rail. Something missing from the above chains. Vey good shower and plently of hot water.
The main problem was however the beds, rock hard and extremely uncomfortable does not fully describe them, the beds in Premier Inn etc are a world apart.
Booking in was very pleasant with a happy and smiling receptionist. All the other staff that we encountered were also pleasant.
Breakfast could either be continental (£5.50) or full english (£7.50), but the latter quickly became very expensive by the time you added hash browns or the alike. Service was good and quick.
It should be noted that at the time of our stay no lunches or afternoon tea was available ( so strictly speaking this was not an hotel ) In addition given that the Top Hat restaurant was closed and the Ice Cream parlour only did just that, be prepared to jump into your car and drive into Wells if you want a sandwich and a cup of tea after a morning visiting the Caves.
On our first evening we had a meal in the hotel, not a vast choice but it was well cooked ( the starters too well ! ) although expensive. Subsequently we ate out in local pub.
One other matter was that our room was not serviced after the first night.
To sum up :- very good location, pleasant staff, only very average and expensive food, with bland /cold / beige bedrooms and public areas.
Would we return ? No, certainly not until the beds were improved.

Room Tip: Accept only front upper rooms, otherwise request a reduction.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed for one night over Easter on the way to Devon to tag on an extra night and break up the journey; great value package which included entrance to the caves, golf and all of the attractions. hotel very clean and quiet; no noise disturbance at all from other guests which is a refreshing change ! very friendly greeting and very quick and informative when collecting the tickets.

Loved the fact that after our evening meal our children had free range of the large soft play area and penny arcade, only 2 or 3 other families using the facilities ! far more night time play / activities than the Alton Towers Hotel. The circus show is not usually our type of thing, but we were so impressed by the highly skilled children, amazing talent. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libby236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Spent one night here with our 2 small children. Check-in was very quick and friendly The room was spotless and very functional. We had bought an easter special package which included a family pass to the wookey hole attraction. We ate in the restaurant and the young lady that looked after us went out of her way to make sure that we enjoyed our meal - Top marks - unlike the waiter at breakfast who barked at my son to "get down" when he was looking at the toaster from the vantage point of the nearest booth.....leaving him confused and upset - because as he said "i was only looking". .......note to management.....some training needed here. This was however compensated for by the very plesant Witch who came to our table for a chat.....the children loved it. So all in all, a good eperience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is clean, basic, with all amenities. it is a step up from a travelodge. Very good locality for the wookey hole caves. Cheap for families, although the caves are not

Room Tip: We can only go by our one, it was a good clean room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupidares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We got a deal with this hotel, family pass to the caves, breakfast, crazy golf, pennies for the penny arcade and the hotel all for £99. Paid extra for full breakfast, hotel very clean, lovely chat with the witch at breakfast.

We have tried to book again since on same deal but couldn't get it for dates we wnated but this was our first choice - we will be back!

Hotel very clean, great staff, great value hotel in unusual surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aisforandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed in a family room easter half term and was very impressed with the hotel and Wookey hole caves. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the sofa bed was easy to do and my 3 year old slept very well in it. The hotel was quiet and just a short walk to the big top restaurant. It was a carvery and set up as a canteen but the food was good and the staff friendly and you have access to the indoor play area and penny arcade which was great. Would recommend it highly for families with little ones really glad we made the journey and enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hms40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
312 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: $59 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing