We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great modern hotel, good price”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel, good price”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for one night after a wedding. The 24hr check-in was useful! Very suprised at the large size of the double room, plenty of space for spreading out and relaxing. Comfortable bed, modern and clean bathroom, dark and quiet location, large windows with juiliette balcony... just a bit of a shame that we weren't staying for longer!

The only downside was the breakfast. £5 each for a "continental" we thought was a bit steep for the small selection available (a couple of cereals, toast, yogurt, cheap juice and tea/coffee, but no pastries etc). A full English was also available cooked to order, but we didn't choose this option, available for £7.50.

All in all, a good hotel for the price, as long as you don't mind forking out a bit extra for breakfast... or just head into the village to spend £7.50 each on something more quaint!

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room - you get big windows and a juliette balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Owain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    364
    160
    50
    29
See reviews for
445
311
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Excellent hotel, we stopped for one night having travelled from Rugby, staff very friendly and helpful. Room excellent, hot water available all the time for shower/ bath. Only downside was the restaurant "Big top restaurant" food was excellent quality BUT well over priced £15.99 for mixed grill £4.95 for bread and butter pudding!!!!! Will definately stay again, but will give restaurant a miss unless prices come down drastically.

Room Tip: Family room very spacious & bed very comfortable after long day walking and evening in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poleprec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the basic double room, its very clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bath room was spotless. We had a shower over the bath that was very powerful and hot water at all times of the day.
We did not try the hotel restaurant at all due to the bad reviews and it looks a bit like a hospital cafeteria.
One of the receptionists was very smiley and friendly, however the other staff didn't greet you or smile and generally looked bored or stood around chatting. It would have been nice to be shown to our room also and offered help with our bags, but we were given a key card and then the receptionist turned his chair around to talk to the staff member behind him.
We couldn't fault the rooms at all, but it seemed the low price was due to the service, however we would stay here again due to the low rates and the good location, it is nearby to Wells, Cheddar and a host of other tourist spots with plenty to see. Once you get closer follow the signs to wookey hole instead of following the sat nav as they lead you off the wrong way. The hotel shares a carpark with wookey hole.
We would also recommend Beah in Wells for breakfast or dinner, it was a short drive away and lovely food. The Wells Market on a saturday is also nice.

Room Tip: Second floor room with an odd number, the ground floor ones have large windows and no net curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This Holel is very clean with helpful staff . However the restauraunt service was Poor , tables are cleared when they feel like it , not when they should be , by the time your food came you would have had time to go and buy and cook it yourself .
Spare beds also have to be made up by the guests . These little things make a stay more enjoyable .
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan0574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Firstly a sign in the village pointing to the Hotel would be a boon. Our Sat-Nav took us to the top of School Hill where a lady gave us directions - apparently we were the third that day! The hotel itself is modern and clean. It stands on the site of an old paper mill and there are homages to its older days on the restaurant walls.

There is little to find fault with - our room was large and clean although furnishings were minimalist. There is a large car park. The restaurant was clean although somewhat spartan and cafeteria-like. There is a bar although the seating for it is in the corridor to the restaurant.

The ladies on reception were charming and efficient. They will organise your trip to the caves for you too. The caves are very close by.

We took dinner at the nearby Wookey Hole Inn which was excellent (and it jolly well ought to be at £75 for two of us - and we didn't even have dessert).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We loved this hotel, beautiful setting.
Super clean.
Extras facilitites very welcome.
Staff efficient
Only one draw back, the quality of food in the restaurant, whilst perfectly cooked was
very poor and not good value for money, we ate the first night but didnt return 'the other nights we stayed. But the chef is a treasure, its a shame he doesnt have better quality ingredients to work with.
The sausages are horrid. I wouldnt mind paying the restaurant breakfast and dinner menu prices to the quality was improved.
But we would stay again, but skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186299Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I almost didn't book this hotel as the price seemed too low, but having read some of the reviews decided to give it a go. The hotel is modern, immaculately clean, with free wifi. The family rooms are well equipped and I would argue as good as any of the midrange chain hotels like novotel or holiday inn.

The restaurant serves homely food (individually I'd rank it a 3.5 out of 5). Large portions and friendly service in the evening.

A good night's sleep followed.

The only blemish was the breakfast. At 7 per head for a cooked breakfast and 6 for kids (for an unrequested smaller portion), this was poor value for money. The Hotel Inspector would recommended a better quality of sausage so that the water content doesn't lead to a boiled effect in cooking. Service at breakfast was also relatively poor.

All in all, this hotel offers excellent value for money and with slight tweaks to the services on offer (eg an earlier breakfast - 8am is rather tardy) would be an excellent stop over on trips to Bath as well as the Wookey Hole caves themselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stattotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing