We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC PLACE”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Me and my wife have just returned form another fabulous weekend at the Wookey Hole Inn, again the food was abosoultley fantastic, We know the staff well now and we love it because it is so relaxed and eclectic. Did some good walks around there too this time. Never want to come home when I go there -see you all soon hopefully.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_talwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    377
    166
    50
    30
See reviews for
454
321
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This looks like a fairly new hotel and as such the rooms were well maintained and comfortable. We had a family room for four which was bigger than those at a Travelodge.
The hotel did not have any dining facilities and as such we were directed over the road to the Big Top restuarant (which is all part of the Wookey Hole experience) and where dinner and breakfast are served. The food here was reasonable standard pub food but nothing spectacular. Breakfast was £7 for adults and £6 for kids for the Full English.
There is a pub in village which did more upmarket ane expensive food but this did not interest our kids.
Only criticism is that the walls seemed a bit thin and therefore we could here next doors shower quite clearly.
One final tip, we got a cheaper price by booking via an agent than we would have done via the hotel itself.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room had balcopny window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Not exactly a hotel for a romantic weekend (i.e. think 'Travelodge' functionality), but perfect for a short family break on-location at Wookey Hole. It has friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms. You have to eat your breakfast across the road at the Big Top restaurant, but at £7 a head, it was reasonable value and very tasty. The biggest downside of staying in Wookey itself is a lack of dining choices in the evenings. I would recommend eating in Wells (under 10 mins drive) before returning to the hotel for the night. The hotel is clearly aimed at a certain market, but does this job very well. And Wookey Hole is a great fun place to visit - for kids of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamenco_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel room was clean and spacious and good value, however our experience in The Big Top Restaurant was awful !

Once we ordered our food, we then waited 45mins to be served and finally after we complained the food arrived but it was not good.

The Wookey Burger gives the impression on the menu of a homemade burger with relish when infact it was a tasteless, fatty burger that can be bought in cheaper supermarkets with a bap and the ribs .................. yuk

When I complained the waitress made the excuse that due to the fact a number of guests arrived at the same time they were very busy but 45minutes and a number of other guests were complaining about the wait and quality of the food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titch1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

this hotel is part of a very small disney park-esque type place (caves, 'big top' restaurant, mini golf) that is slightly cheezy but not campy--all very quaint and clean. it definitely seemed like a family destination (whether coming for the caves by day and/ or staying overnight, but never to the point of large crowds/ annoying kids) although we did see several couples. we came here for the great price and positive reports of cleanliness/ comfort/ quiet, which were all fulfilled. it's 2 miles outside Wells and there's a bus that goes every hour and a half beginning at 8.30 or so. Sightseeing in Wells and surrounding Somerset country was the reason for our trip, and we stayed here 4 nights. It was nothing special, but we had plenty of space in the standard double room, and everything was clean and comfortable. Staff is very accommodating too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleamaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and teenage daughter over whitsun weekend. Although it was busy the hotel was not noisy at night. The rooms were big enough for a family and very clean. The food in the big top restaurant was excellent. There was no long waits for food at dinner or breakfast. The food at both meals was very good quality. Overall a extremley good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevedonChurchills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel is wonderfully clean, rooms are spacious and very well equipped, if a little spartan. Staff were friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. The location is ideal for Wells and surrounding areas. It was very quiet at night, and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. Wish our stay had been longer. Would recommend this hotel as excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We booked superior rooms, and had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaqui9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing