We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find!”
Review of Wookey Hole Inn

Wookey Hole Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were camping for a few days in Wookey Hole,and decided to skip self-catering and try the Wookey Hole Inn. From outside, it looks a little tired and shabby, so we weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised by the airy and contemporary dining room. We only wanted a simple meal, so opted for just one course, I had the wild boar burger with applewood cheese and caramelised apple, served in a crisp warm ciabatta bun with home-made wedge chips and side salad. Absolutely delicious and a very generous portion. My husband had chicken schnitzel served with a creamy sauce on spinach and a crisp cake of either polenta or potato, (he was not sure, but said it was gorgeous). The desserts and starters going to other diners all looked equally good, the place was spotless and the service very friendly and professional. My burger was under £10, and my husband's chicken under £17, which we thought was very good value indeed. Would definitely visit again, and I understand they also have accommodation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    82
    27
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small but delicious range of choice”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A small but thoughtful menu which had something for everyone. I'd sooner have a smaller choice cooked to perfection and that is what you get here. The prices are not bad either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Somerset Inn”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Taken here by my brother and his family for a quick lunchtime snack. They live locally in Wells and recommended The Wookey Hole Inn for 'decent food'.
The pub appears to have been completely refurbished in the past few years giving a pleasant large airy bar with simple, individual non-corporate decor. Welcoming friendly staff attended to us straight away, then with drinks and food menus in hand we wandered to the large, well kept and tidy garden.
Four of us had 'Light Bites' or 'Sandwiches' which turned out to be almost a full blown meal for each with salad and real chips, while one had very filling and delicious soup, all brought to our table at the very top of he garden.

Surprisingly I thought the prices were quite reasonable, even with the tourist attraction of the caves nearby. Plus the good quality of food made a very relaxed and pleasant lunch in the lovely Somerset countryside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lovely meal. We were pleasantly surprised by this place - not very inviting from outside but nice inside. Good service and menu

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided to drop in for lunch after a long, hot walk on a Saturday. There was a nice table available in the garden with a sun shade. The beer was very good - kept at the right temperature. We had ordered ham sandwiches with salad. They came about 15-20 mins after we ordered. They were extraordinarily large and very tasty. The ham was 'proper' not packaged; and had been thoughtfully garnished and presented.

Service was friendly and prompt. All in all we really enjoyed the experience and would certainly go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skivacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wookey Hole Inn also viewed

 

Been to Wookey Hole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing