We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly stay in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having read some of the reviews, I was expecting an excellent stay for a quiet few days in the Dales. Dave & Sally's B&B completely exceeding my expectations. Clean, beautiful and placed in a stunning village amongst some of Britain's best countryside, we were able to relax and enjoy. Dave & Sally were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time - even picking us up from the train station. I will definitely be going back some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday_lover1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Sally and I are really pleased that your enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House, and appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. As you say we have stunning countryside on our doorstep with plenty to see and do. Hope we are able to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 703 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

For our second vist to Yorkshire this year we had no hesitation in returning to Thorngarth. With everything as expected from Dave and Sally, they always deliver the very best in food, comfort and friendliness, a pleasure to return. We hope to be able to return again next Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee And Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Yet another returning guest. Lovely to welcome you to Thorngarth House twice this year. We are both really pleased and proud that you again enjoyed your stay with us, as well as enjoying the many sites and attractions to visit and experience in and around the Yorkshire Dales. We are ideally located for day trips to the Lake District, Forest of Bowland and of course the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Look forward to seeing you again in the Spring. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Yet another visit to Thorngarth and as always the service was of the highest standard. The way David and Sally feed and look after their guests cannot be faulted. Thank you both once again and rest assured, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAJLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your continued support.....your seventh visit to Thorngarth House!!! Sally and I feel really humbled and very proud when we welcome returning guests, and really appreciate all your continued support. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having stayed at Thorngarth in 2011 it was an easy decision to return for a 4 night dinner, bed and breakfast stay in early October. As on our previous visit we were spoiled with excellent hospitality, great accommodation, wonderful food and superb hosts.

Couldn't be better. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-total-mess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your second stay experience at Thorngarth House. We are pleased that you again enjoyed your stay. Your status as a regular Trip Advisor reviewer is noted and acknowledged. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Dave & Sally made us feel completely at home and part of the family!. I won't bother going anywhere else when going to the Yorkshire dales. The location is also very central. Parking is not a problem as well. Best of all, you don't need to bother about planning activities whilst there, as Dave & Sally are full of local knowledge and sorted us out completely for 2 days including ideas for dinners. We are all vegetarians so a bit harder, but got excellent recommendations from them. The rooms are clean, welcoming and beds were very comfy. Oh... they are one funny couple, made us laugh throughout our breakfast!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your short stay in the Yorkshire Dales and had a comfortable stay at Thorngarth House. There is so much to see and do in and around the Yorkshire Dales, that we hope that we are able to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I returned to the Dales and to Thorngarth after a gap of a few years. Sally and Gregory were very good hosts, as ever: attentive, humorous and always ready with advice on places to visit and how to get to them. The guesthouse is clean and comfortable, the food very good and all at what is nowadays a very reasonable price, especially given that I have single occupation of a generous-sized room. When I come to this area again, I will head here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Thorngarth House on Trip Advisor. sally and I are pleased that you again enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you're looking for a b&b then look no further because you won't a better one than this. Dave & Sally are the perfect host they will give you lots of information on where to go and what to do, and if you're hungry in the morning you certainly won't be after breakfast starting off with fresh fruit salad-cereal-full English fry up-toast & tea or coffee, and that sets you up for the day. The house is spotless & spacious as was our room (warfedale) over looking the dales, although the house is on the A65 PLEASE DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY THIS, why? because our room was TRIPLE GLAZED and we slept like logs. If you're coming by car not a problem as there is ample parking space for every one. I could go on & on, but, al I can say book this B&B and enjoy a fantastic stay.
Lastly i'd like to say a very BIG THANK YOU to Dave & Sally for being fantastic hosts you made us feel very very welcome. Only down side to this is......... you will be seeing us again next year.
Once again many thanks & all the best to you both
Barry & Frances (from Kent).
p.s could you arrange for a little less rain next year?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you very much for posting a very thorough and comprehensive review of your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House, and visit to the Yorkshire Dales. Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the inclement weather during your week stay. That is something out of our control, which didn't seem to put you off as you were out and about every day. There is so much to see and do in the area - Thorngarth House is ideally positioned to visit attractions in the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and Forest of Bowland. We hope that you are able to visit us again next year. Kindest Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
298 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
503 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range: $96 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing