We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorngarth Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, U.K.
1 review
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Thorngarth Country Guest House. Dave and Sally were the perfect hosts - Sally's cooking was second to none and Dave's knowledge of the area was so helpful. Wonderful comfortable accommodation and a wonderful area to explore the Dales. This was our first visit and hope it will not be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanking you taking the time to post a trip advisor review following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. We hope that you are able to visit the area again sometime in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House. Sally and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt it was 'home from home'. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
363
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came back to Thorngarth for a second time in September as I was working in the area.I was again treated wonderfully. Food was excellent and kept me fueled for four days hard work in wet and cold conditions. I have to start the diet tomorrow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Thorngarth Country Guest House to stay at while in the area on Business. Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Your room for the New year is already booked!!!! Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Dave and Sally are a lovely couple and super hosts They made us welcome for our short stay. We toured the area and benefited from their advice on places to visit and local amenities etc. Our room was spacious and and had easy chairs to relax in and look out to the distant hills. A very nice breakfast with good choice of food, carefully prepared and served with a smile. Lovely area to see Yorkshire countryside at its best. We recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House during your Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge - well done. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Thorngarth Country Guest House and also to the Yorkshire Dales, we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome - Sally and Dave create such a warm and friendly atmosophere and nothing is too much trouble.
The meals were excellent, well presented and always 'piping hot'.
We shall certainly return to this beautiful part of the country and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Thank you Dave and Sally for making our stay so enjoyable!

Brian and Christine (from Cheshire)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House and your first visit to the Yorkshire Dales. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

As requested, here's my review. Once again Sally and Dave were wonderful and of course very helpful. Again I was in training for a charity trek and Sally and Dave offered excellent advice on Pen-y-Ghent and the Malham Cove stairway. As always the food and room was wonderful. Next year will be for three nights with some relaxing walking rather than one of the Three Peaks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claratrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your third visit to Thorngarth Country Guest House. As you say you need to come for longer as there is so much to see and do especially if you are a keen walker as you clearly are. Keep up the fantastic charity walks. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a wonderful treat we had, staying for two nights at the Thorngarth, ingleton,. We had come to the Dales to walk the Water fall trail for my photography interest. Dave and Sally are very friendly and easy going with great knowledge of the area. We stayed in the Wharfdale room which is very nicely laid out, very clean and comfortable to relax, with a lovely view of the rolling lush green fields and seeing the cows and sheep grazing together.
Breakfast if you want cooked is ordered the night before and is pleasantly presented, tasty and plentiful as to how much you want to eat, the prepared fresh fruit was very welcome. I would very much recommend this guest house to anyone staying in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dibble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have many keen photographers stay with us who visit the Dales to capture the beauty of the countryside, birds and waterfalls in and around the surrounding areas. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Thorngarth B&B in May 2013. It was an excellent stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very good indeed. All told we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sally & I are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Yorkshire Dales and stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Moor View Bed and Breakfast
9.5 mi away
Littlebank Country House
18.7 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Property: Thorngarth Country Guest House
Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing