We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I would just like to thank Dave and Sally for a great weekend of golf, great food and warm hospitality. Not the first time I've been to this hidden gem for a golf weekend with our party hiring out the full guest house. The local golf courses were a good level for all abilities with Casterton being a nice facility with a good quality par 3 available for some fun golf after the main event and a couple of refreshments. Thorngarth itself offers a quality level of relaxation with excellent food and good local knowledge from a friendly family set up. I can't recommend this hotel enough and the local village offers a nice set of shops and pubs to keep you interested if the English summer catches you out.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. sally and I are pleased that you again enjoyed your golfing weekend. Only wish that I able to join you on the golf course. Look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House next year. Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 706 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from our NINTH annual golfing weekend.As ever Sally and Dave are simply fantastic hosts who always go the extra mile to ensure our stay is extra special.We played at nearby Casterton Golf Club which also deserves praise for their hospitality.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and a really enjoyable stay at the Thorngarth !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Sally and I are really pleased that you again enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and more importantly enjoyed the golf. Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just finished a golf weekend staying at the Thorngarth Country Guest House in Ingleton. I cannot praise the experience too highly. Sally and Dave provided us with excellent food as well as wonderful accommodation.
We played golf at nearby Casterton and this was also excellent.
If you want a variety of activities, including walking, cycling or just chilling out, please try Thorngarth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Thorngarth House on Trip Advisor. Sally and I are pleased that you again enjoyed your (8th visit) to this neck of the woods, and appreciate your continued support in ALL weathers. Fortunately we had fantastic weather for you this time. Look forward to welcoming you back to Thorngarth House next year - your rooms are booked. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As per the website and advertisements, we decided to book Thorngarth as it is a perfect location for touring the Yorkshire Dales and we were certainly not disappointed with our choice. The whole experience was just delightful and thus made our first trip down to Yorkshire a very enjoyable experience. Dave & Sally were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome. They certainly lived up to the expectation of serving lovely home cooked food, very comfortable accommodation and a comfortable lounge to sit in the evenings. They are a lovely couple who go out of their way to help you in any way possible, nothing is of any bother - and we had a lot of laughter along the way with their happy disposition. We would have no hesitation in recommending them to our friends or returning ourselves to Thorngarth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of Thorngarth Country Guest House. We appreciate you putting your thoughts of your stay onto Trip Advisor. Sally and I are always pleased to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and hope that we are able to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The website gives a very accurate description and the booking was easy and efficient. The room was quiet and good value for money; spacious and comfortable for a single traveller. Dave and Sally were welcoming and friendly and offered helpful advice about my trip over to Dent for a wedding. The breakfast was excellent quality. Despite being on A65 I did not hear any noise from the road and slept very well in the comfortable bed. I would like to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: Perhaps take a few extra tea bags along if like me you like several cuppas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had another great stay (Last visited here in 2002) - it was excellent then, and even better now! Ideally located with beautiful views all round.
Good food, Good Company, Good Value and Great Hosts - always very helpful; nothing is too much trouble.
Thanks again to Sally and Dave!


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for your comments. It was lovely to welcome you back to Thorngarth House, as it is with all our returning guests. There is so much to see and do in and around the Ingleton and surrounding areas, and Thorngarth House is an ideal base from which to explore the Dales, Lake District and Forest of Bowland. Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Thorngarth as part of a group doing the 3 peak challenge, the location was great with various pubs/restaurants nearby. Breakfast was good with a great choice chosen the night before for it to be ready, and as we had to get up early to do the walk we were given a choice of sandwiches and snacks to take with us! Comfy beds, good shower, clean all over but most notably were the great hosts! If I do the 3 peaks again I will certainly be staying here

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will sometime in the future have the opportunity to welcome you and your group back to Thorngarth House to again 'conquer' the Yorkshire Three Peaks . Regards Dave & Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
303 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
135 reviews
4 mi away
Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing