We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location for seeing the best of the Dales. Excellent hospitality, food, comfort etc. Great couple and any info you need is readily available by both. Dave even worked out a route for us to see the very best of the Dales, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Your status as a regular Trip Advisor reviewer is noted and acknowledged. Ingleton is ideally situated to use as a base to visit and explore the Yorkshire Dales and surrounding areas, and we can recommend many lovely places to visit and experience the Dales countryside. Thanks once again. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    52
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
393
35
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Thorngarth, and despite the rainy weather we had a wonderful time. Dave & Sally were very helpful & knowledgeable about places to visit. The room was exetremely comfortable & the breakfasts were second to none & really set us up for the day. If we hadn't already booked another weekend away & a holiday in September we would certainly visit again. However we hope to return next year as there are plenty of places we have yet to visit.
Thank you Sally & Dave for a lovely weekend away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Sally and I really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break at Thorngarth Country Guest House. We are ideally positioned as a base to visit and explore The Yorkshire dales, The Lake District, and The Forest Of Bowland, all on our door step. Hope we are able to welcome you back to Thorngarth House sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel very comfortable. As we were walking the Yorkshire 3 peaks we were up early in the morning and were offered a pack up in lieu of breakfast this was A* and a welcome addition to our wet walk!!
The beds were very comfortable and rooms were spotless. Dave recommended a pub to us nearby which did good food and drink for after our walk, which we went to and it was lovely.
Great visit. Thanks Dave and Sally.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John253000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review, Sally and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. Well done in completing the Yorkshire Three Peak challenge despite the poor weather. We are pleased that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Thorngarth for two nights B&B and thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality
that was afforded us by Sally and Dave. Comfortable and clean accommodation and a breakfast that set us up for the day plus all the information you needed on things to see and do in the area.
This certainly ticked the boxes for us.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZeeGee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments following your stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House. Your status as a Senior Reviewer with Trip Advisor is acknowledged. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our third visit and once again we were more than satisfied with the hospitality, comfortable room and Sally's excellent and varied home cooking. Thorngarth is well placed for access to many places of interest and Dave is a mine of information on how and where to go. The Four Day Break is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee And Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments.Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your 4 night stay at Thorngarth Country Guest House, and appreciated Sally's home cooked food, which is always goes down well with new and returning (50%) guests. Kind Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Thorngarth. Sally & Dave made us feel very welcome and cooked a wonderful breakfast. The House was very clean and our bed was really comfortable. Dave offered to give us a lift to the start of our walk and was able to give lots of advice on places to visit. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House, and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind Regards Dave & Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Thorngarth is very conveniently situated for the Lakes, the Yorkshire dales, Bowland and the Lancashire Cost. Dave and \sally are very welcoming into their very comfortable house. The food is first rate as is the company. It is easy to see why so many people return. All in all couldn't be bettered.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorngarth, Owner at Thorngarth Country Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Sally and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thorngarth House. As you rightly say there is so much to see and do in and around Ingleton & the Yorkshire Dales. Regards Dave & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.2 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
533 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
590 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorngarth Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorngarth Country Guest House

Property: Thorngarth Country Guest House
Address: Thorngarth House New Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorngarth Country Guest House is a Four Star - Silver Award Victorian House with stunning views of Ingleborough Peak, Forest of Bowland, River Greta and surrounding farmlands - offering en suite rooms with tea/coffee tray, colour HD televisions, excellent hospitality, home cooked food, large residents lounge and private car parking. FREE WiFi - Summer and Winter Specials - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Breaks Available. Great base to explore the Yorkshire Dales, The Lake District and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thorngarth Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorngarth Country Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing