We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening meal and great staff”
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Pontefract
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice evening meal and great staff”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Booked at this last minute as we managed to get the weekend to ourselves! Staff very welcoming and had a lovely meal in the bar, thought the food was reasonably priced and a good selection of hearty home cooked meals. The room itself was perfectly adequate and at £65 + tenner for the dog was a good price also. Slept ok despite some of the other residents being quite noisy and the mattress was on the lumpy side. The bathroom was more of a wet room and after a shower the floor gets soaking wet so wouldn't advise on putting anything on the floor! The breakfast though was the biggest disappointment. We eventually got 1 slice of cold toast each, and then it seemed as if the staff waited for all the guests to turn up before taking orders. No menu to choose from no sauce or sugar on the tables. Both requested full English and is was ok but not great. It seems like this is a place that is in transition and with a few little tweaks I'm sure it'll be great

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    89
    28
    23
    18
See reviews for
36
159
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Marton Arms mid-week for a half term treat. The new management were very welcoming and the food was absolutely lovely - fresh ingredients and homemade desserts.
We would definitely recommend a stay here, and plan to visit again soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

thanks Dan for a very memorable stay .......had a great time ..in a .beautiful place.... great food & drink and top atmosphere.........had a thoroughly excellent time ....we'll be back !!!
Joe & Josie

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from fabulous night at the marton. Been coming here since 1991 and this time the best food yet. Recommend to all, and can't wait to return in September which is already booked if not before. Dan and all his staff are excellent, warm and friendly, the beer, whisky and ambience impeccable and the food even better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have read other reviews and it is evident that now that the new owner has recently taken over the Hotel, things are definitely improving . We were a party of four couples staying for one night , and we had a great time. It was clear that the new owner is finding his feet, but as it was a busy time of year this is only to be expected, and the enthusiasim and friendlyness of the staff made up for the hectic-ness !.
The hotel has lots of character and has a warm friendly feel to it.
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. We didn't eat in the hotel (apart from a nice breakfast) but the food which was being served to other guests looked good.
The rooms were fine, and the bed comfy.
We had no idea what to expect and the older reviews did concern us slightly - but we had no need to worry as we had a great stay .
We wish Daniel and his team every success in his new venture, and if our stay was anything to go by then I have no doubt that any slight hic-cups will be ironed out very quickly .
We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: My party had 4 rooms all different, but all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamperPrincesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were a party of 13 who booked 3 months in advance. The service was poor and the food and accommodation over priced. Distinct lack of real ales available and several of the more popular meals were off the menu - they had been expecting us for 3 months! The table for 13 was uncomfortably set out, no one came readily to serve us, we fetched our own menus. My husband and I had Room 8 with the extremely noisy extractor fan. Sadly, the poor overall experience spoilt our annual walkers get together.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. This review is going to be reported as suspicious as from when we took over the property no one had stayed with us in room 8 until february so the only thing I can assume as it is a late review from when you stayed under previous management. Myself and my staff also have no recollection of a table of 13 that had been booked eating at the time and we have no booking in the diary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to The Marton Arms Hotel on a whim as we needed somewhere to stay in the area. We stayed over at the weekend, and for £60 bed and breakfast at a weekend, we were not disappointed in the slightest. The staff, especially the new Manager Daniel, were incredibly welcoming and friendly, and could not have done more to welcome us. The room was clean and inviting. After finding out that the hotel had recently been taken over I could really see that the new Manager had gone to a lot of effort to improve things, and his hard work is definitely paying off. We had a lovely full english breakfast in the morning; a hearty portion which was very tasty and well cooked. The atmosphere in the hotel is great, and we really were pleased we chose to stay there. We will definitely be staying again! Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.7 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,106 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Property: Marton Arms Hotel
Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marton Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing