We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed”
Review of Marton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marton Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked this last minute for our wedding anniversary as a treat ..... Therefore paid top wack for a room that wasn't really worth the money .... it had a brass (?) four poster but wasn't dressed as a four poster , just had a bit of flimsy material top and bottom . The room door was propped open with a dining chair when we were shown there , possibly to hide the musty smell of the bathroom . This was a disabled bathroom / wet room . The whole room needed an up grade very dark and dingy . We joked that it was home from home for my husband as he works in a nursing home !!! I used the bathroom to find we had no towels at all , there were tea and coffee facilities and one packet of biscuits , we would have liked glasses for water in the night but there were none . Breakfast was a bit hit and miss , the people on the next table sent their coffee back just as mine arrived as it was too weak , low and behold mine was like dish water and had to go back !! My breakfast was nicely cooked and very tasty , but my husbands of smoked Haddock and poached eggs had to go back as the Haddock was raw ...... It was returned with fresh cooked fish and fresh eggs . We did eat in the restaurant and had a very nice steak so would recommend the evening food there ........... The location was very good for a quiet weekend away ....... am unsure if I would return .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidaymaker008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not like the bedroom that was allocated to you. This bedroom is one of the bedrooms we get a lot of feedback from, some being really positive and others being negative, I can only put this down to personal taste. I am aware that some of the bathrooms / bedrooms do need updated and this is work in progress. I have made a note of your comments about the glass ware in the bathrooms and going forward and there are now glasses in all of the rooms. In regards to your comments regarding the morning coffee, this is something that requires training which I have arranged with our local coffee supplier. It is your valuable feedback that helps us to positively move our business forward. I am pleased that you liked the location and that you enjoyed your evening food. I very much hope that you will return to the hotel in the future. Kind regards
Lesley, Matt and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Marton Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We walked to the Marton Arms in mid-winter storm and gales so its warm fire, good selection of ales and large clean room with bountiful hot water and power shower and comfy bed was much appreciated.
It was averagely busy but staff seemed a little runoff their feet - I enjoyed filling the woodburner but a bit annoying our spinach pasta came out with no spinach..
But overall a great place to stay in quiet pretty village just outside Ingleton.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you kindly for your valued comments with regards to your stay at The Marton Arms Hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Lesley, Matthew and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night on a short break driving through the magnificent Yorkshire Dales. Since I now live abroad and don't get to England too often, a stay in a country pub was high on my list. I was not disappointed, a great charm about the place, a few Real Ales, lovely views of the church opposite or the lovely green hills, good food (I had the Lamb Shank and my sister had a huge home-made burger) as well as friendly staff all made for a great short break. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind commets. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Regards
Lesley, Matthew and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We discovered this pub on a break in Ingleton last November, then it was a log fire wintery warm pub and this weekend it was a lovely summertime retreat.

We had a 2 night stay here from Friday 19th July. Checked in at the bar and was taken to the room by the friendly young lady behind the bar. Our room overlooked the garden at the back. The room was large and very clean. We'd prepaid for a voucher at the end of last year on the North Country Inns website, so we spent £100 for 2 nights B&B, very impressed with this as there were no silly t's&c's stopping us use the voucher at bank holidays etc.

Having stayed at another North Country Inns pub, the Brackenrigg Inn a few years earlier and been given a tiny room with a tiny a bed, we did wonder if we would receive similar accommodation as we were on a discounted rate. From having looked at the website, I think there are rooms with four posters and wet rooms, we didn't get one of those but that was no problem as our room was really good.

Breakfast is served in a room across the front courtyard, which was nice as it wasn't in the main pub part of the building. We had full English both mornings and they were served promptly on both mornings and set us up for the day, what more could you ask?

We ate there on the Friday night and I can recommend the fish & chips! Served on paper and a large portion, the burger went down a treat at our table too. I appreciate this is standard pub fayre and there is more to choose from on the menu, but they did these 2 staples very well.

Saturday evening we ate out as they couldn't fit us in for a few hours when we asked at 7pm. That said, as we went to leave and walk into Ingleton another couple had just walked in and were told that they would be able to have food at 7:30?! Not sure if we were being penalised for not having listened to the managers warning that afternoon to book in early. It's a shame as the scallop special starter looked lovely!

All in all it was a very pleasant pub stay, the staff were lovely the whole break and we will definitely stay again.

If you are lucky enough to go when the sun is shining take your swimsuit as the open air pool in Ingleton is a novelty, it was packed when we went but still it was nice to be in the fresh air swimming in the North West!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you kindly for your valued comments with regards to your stay at The Marton Arms Hotel.
Our staff constantly strive to maintain and improve standards for our valued customers. Recognition for our efforts in achieving this is as much appreciated as is insight into how we can continue to exceed the standards we set.
On behalf of all the team at the hotel, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards Lesley, Matthew and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in May on a deal through North Country Inns. If this establishment is part of a chain, they need to take a serious look at their quality control processes.
For a start, we arrived at 8.0pm after a difficult journey because the main road from Carnforth to Ingleton was closed. We had eaten at lunch time and just wanted a sandwich or some sort of bar meal but that turned out to be too much to ask once the restaurant service had started.
Our room was tired, but comfortable, but it overlooked the garden used as overflow from the bar-restaurant, so noisy until chucking-out time. Breakfast was OK as long as you're not looking for continental, but my wife was a bit surprised to find a cold hollandaise on an order of eggs benedict and the service was the sort you might expect from an amiable but untrained amateur. We booked for dinner in the restaurant on our second night, turned up at the appointed time, stood waiting to be shown to our table and were ignored by bar manager (who had taken our oringinal booking) and the waitress (clearly overworked that night and still cross about it when she was on breakfast duty the next morning) while another couple who arrived a full 5 minutes later were dealt with. The food, when it eventually arrived, again was OK, but not worth its high-end price tag. We weren't tempted to stay for a dessert and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I used to visit here most weekends back in my Caving days. It's not changed much really, apart from the distinct lack of real ale's. This place used to have at least 8/9 on the go! The room was pleasant and comfortable with nice views over the rear beer garden. The eating aspect was a bit of a mess though! The service was rather poor with not very attentive staff. We were left alone with dirty plates for 45mins. My partner ordered the fish off the specials board. The waitress came back and said it had gone! We tried something else and the same thing again. There excuse was they were changing the menu. In the end we were very limited in choice and ended up with meals that we didn't really fancy. Very average. We tried to order the haddock for breakfast and that wasn't available either. Apparently their fish supplier had let them down. Well it certainly let us down. Come on Marton, you can do better than this

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Marton Arms Hotel. I have now looked into your comments and can confirm that during your visit there was a change over in chefs and therefore where in the middle of a menu change. I understand that from a guest’s point of view that this is not satisfactory. As for the service this is not to our usual standards and I have now taken the time to discuss these issues with the relevant people.

We trust you understand that from time to time things do not go according to plan, as in this instance, and offer our sincere apologies. It is your valuable feedback that helps us to positively move our business forward.

I hope that we have the oppotunity to welcome you back to the Marton Arms in the future.
Kind regards
Lesley, Matt and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed one nigh only, after undertaking the gruelling Yorkshire 3 Peaks.

Only issue is the use of the description en-suite bathroom, no bath only a shower.

Slept like a log, in a decent sized room overlooking the charming local church.

Breakfast was excellent, good choice, freshly cooked to order, and well presented.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveW10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Marton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you were unaware that all of our rooms have showers and not baths, I know that after such a long walk a bath would have been welcomed. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food and we very much hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Lesley, Matthew and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
4.6 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
412 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Arms Hotel

Address: Thornton-in-Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ingleton
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marton Arms Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Marton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Arms Ingleton
Marton Arms Hotel Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing