We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class b&b, best we have stayed in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferncliffe Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First class b&b, best we have stayed in”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What more can you say really than that. Karen and Keith were the perfect hosts, we really felt that we were welcome there. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they really are deserving of the good reviews on here.

From the welcome, we were more than surprised on how nice the house was. The rooms (as was the rest of the house) was spotlessly clean, the room was nice and comfortable, the bathroom modern and plenty of hot water. The added toiletries was a nice touch. However the bed was exceptional, just wish we could have taken it home with us! Oh and the wallpaper as well!

We were in a room in the front of the house, which was about 100 or so yards away from the main road but you wouldnt know, there was ample parking and the position made it very accessible to Ingleton, 2 minutes walk to the nearest pub and a further few minutes to all the facilities of Ingleton.

The breakfasts were nice, most of the ingredients were local we were told and they tasted it, loved the bacon, sausages and eggs, in fact it was a lovely full english complete with cereals, toast etc.

We would definitely stay here if we was in the area again, and would recommend anyone staying in Ingleton to give this guesthouse a try. And can we just say again how friendly the hosts were again, they even offered to give us a lift to Kirkby Lonsdale so we could have an anniversary meal. Thats how helpful they were. Thanks for a wonderful break.

Room Tip: Room 3 is where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webfreeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
71
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. the owners gave us a very friendly and chatty welcome and are both very genuine people - perfect hosts. We had turned up quite late at 6.30pm during a walking trip and were told that they'd just tried to call the company who arranged the trip for us to check nothing had happened to us.

Our room was clean, cosy and warm with everything we needed including generous portions of eco-friendly toiletries and even some hot chocolate and posh biscuits - not a standard at every B&B. A nice touch was the provision of a bottle opener and two wine glasses in case we wanted to have some wine in our room. The bathroom was also clean and efficient with a really good shower.

Breakfast had reasonable portion sizes, a wide variety of fruits, yoghurt and cereals and they did particularly spectacular scrambled eggs. They had also gone to the effort of getting in some gluten-free bread for me, thanks to having pre-warned them of this.

Overall a lovely place to stay - thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Returned to stay at Ferncliffe with friends for 2 nights. As with previous visits, can't fault anything! Accommodation and breakfast 5 star. Karen and Keith provide a great welcome to all guests and nothing is too much trouble for them. They are also both extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and available walks and activities. Very much looking forward to our next visit there.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed with friends for a few days walking. Karen and Keith treat guests as part of the family and are very welcoming. Rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast is excellent. Both Karen and Keith are knowledgeable about the local area and can offer advice on walks, Keith also lent us maps. We are looking forward very much to our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Met by the owners who are very friendly and accommodating. Guest house beautiful, clean, well located on the main road and very quiet. Rooms lovely and comfortable, with tea and coffee facilities, TV, en-suite with shower. Beds and pillows very comfy, slept very well! Lounge downstairs with TV and Dining Room.

Great breakfast to start the day, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea/coffee, cooked breakfast. 2 of our party are vegetarians and they were well catered for.

Took bicycles and were able to store overnight in a locked out house so were very safe. There is parking on the road or room for off street parking at the side of the B & B.

Would recommend a visit and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexR728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Graham and Sue, Hull
We stayed here Easter bank holiday, this guest house is a little gem immaculately clean tidy and comfortable and excellent value for money not to mention the fantastic breakfast . karen and keith are both very friendly and gave us a very warm welcome to their home, keep up the hard work you two we will definately be back.
Graham and Sue, Burstwick, Hull.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed with our friends at this excellent Guest House for two nights at the beginning of April. We were welcomed by Karen for an early check in to maximise our time in Ingleton. Both Karen and Keith are such friendly hosts, very informative about the area and professional in all they do, just two very nice people.
From the outside the Ferncliffe looks a charming Guest House and you get exactly that when you get inside. The rooms are very comfortable and have all you need for a relaxing stay. The breakfast was absolutely top quality with fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juice etc to start whilst Keith takes your order from a menu of varied choice. I must admit that I chose the full English, typical man and this was excellent, a large amount that set you up for the day.
Our intention was to visit just Ingleton which is a small village but very pleasant to walk around. We ate and drank at the three local pubs within the village, all well worth the visit.
On our full day we did the Waterfalls Walk, it is a very nice walk but yes it is strenuous but if you are prepared with the right footwear then it isn't a problem. There are many steps to climb up and down but taking your time to view all the waterfalls and the countryside when you reach the top is the best way of doing it.
When we left for home the following day we made a slight de-tour to visit the Ribblehead Viaduct which is a landmark that must not be missed and the little church where people who died during it's construction are buried.
All in all a very nice stay in a lovely area and a superb Guest House, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
0.7 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
285 reviews
4.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#6 of 22 in Ingleton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
Holly Grange Guest House
Holly Grange Guest House
#3 of 22 in Ingleton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferncliffe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferncliffe Guesthouse

Property: Ferncliffe Guesthouse
Address: 55 Main Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ferncliffe Guesthouse Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing