We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In for a drink after a walk”

The Station Inn - The Pub
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Ingleton
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“In for a drink after a walk”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just stayed for about an hour after walking around Ribblehead viaduct while waiting for the train to Settle.

Drink was OK with a nice Pork & Black pudding pie.

Nice surroundings with a nice fire. Staff OK

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    46
    34
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at the Station Inn in October whilst doing the Dalesway. Shown to our room - very tiny and cramped. Looking in the bedside drawer found a dirty plate with last nights snack on it!!!! Disgusting. O.K. dinner in pub that evening. Was promised by the Landlady that her husband would give us a lift to join the Dalesway in the morning after breakfast, We waited in the Bar - made ourselves known to staff explained we were waiting and was ignored. Set off on foot - Thanks for nothing Station Inn - you don't deserve a good review you do not know how to treat paying customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank crusadetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Looks deceive”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

In thick cold fog we were desperate to eat. We looked at the outside, we looked thru the window and i decided this was an egg and chips place. But my wife percevered and what a pleasure that she did.
Inside is all home made food, great cheese board, delicious soups and wonderful steak and kidney pudding. Service was a little slow and confused as we waited half an hour in a not too busy pub and were offered other tables food on several occasions.

It doesnt matter however when you are sitting next to a super real fire eating steak and kidney!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely place to call in.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely little pub (with ample parking) right at the edge of Ribblehead Viaduct, with the train station and small station museum up the little hill just outside the front door. The pub serves a nice range of good food (I recommend the jacket potatoes, especially with chilli sauce) and a good selection of real ales. The weather-predicting stone outside is a fun little addition.

I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews that have appeared here. I've only ever know the food be good, the staff be friendly and the atmosphere be pleasant. The staff aren't of the type that hover over you or accost you as you enter, largely because this isn't a restaurant or a large hotel - it's a pub which serves some lovely food. As for the negative comments about the bunk barns - bunk barns are meant to be basic, and with some being as little as £10 per person per night I find myself wondering what people expect.

The are always other people in the pub even at its quietest times, but as it's a walker-oriented pub there will be occasional times when it is very busy (if there's a large party of walkers/ramblers/campers etc. coming through) and there may be delays, but this is to be expected for a walkers' pub in the middle of the three peaks!

I would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good pint, but could be so much more”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stopped by on my pilgramage to the Ribbleshead viaduct on a very wet Thursday afternoon. I was sort of shocked really. I Have seen pictures of it from the Google maps in planning my visit to the viaduct and thought it would be much better than it was. It seemed rather in need of a good bit of refurbishment. But you cannot fault the great views and friendly landlord and choice of local beers. But the big table and settles next to a pool table next to the TV and other tables is all a bit squashed in and could be so much better in what is an iconic location.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Inn - The Pub also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Station Inn - The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing