We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of The Station Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Station Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were just expecting a basic B&B but we're very pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and general amenities in our rooms including very generous supplies of beverages & biscuits. The food choices were amazing with an extensive fish menu surpassing that of some of our local restaurants and the meals were delicious. We also partook of the packed lunches which again were plentiful and tasty. Our only quibbles were the general size of the rooms & ensuites, quite tight but that's only a minor detail. We would like to single out Karen for her calm approach even when extremely busy and her general humour, help & guidance. We did get good service from everyone we came in contact with. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms as you can be kept awake by people leaving the pub or chatting outside or woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    50
    30
    46
See reviews for
36
100
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on our third night of The Dales Way. We thought the barman was joking when he said we had been given a room with a waterbed but it was true! Even with our dog we had the best room in the hotel. Dinner and breakfast was fine, and we greatly appreciated Karen's lift back to rejoin the path next morning. A great Yorkshire pub with lots of atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the viaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddsRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at The Station Inn on a misty, damp September weekend whilst walking the 3 peaks.

The staff could not have been more helpful, accommodating and friendly. The dealt with our late arrival calmly and efficiently, nothing was too much trouble, even offering to cook food for us after the kitchen had closed.

Special thanks to Karen and Dina(?) who were fantastic with conversation, suggestions of places and things that might help us with the 3 peaks challenge, and most of all sorting out breakfast hours before they officially start it!

The pub has a wonderfully isolated location and a room at the rear gets you spectacular views of the viaduct and Whernside beyond (weather permitting!)

The room was simple, not flashy, but clean sheets, an en-suite and a warm radiator were most welcomed. This is a walkers pub and welcomes dogs so I want expecting 5* luxury but was pleasantly surprised with the overall standard.

We ate here on the Saturday night and the food was great too. Breakfast was cooked to order and also cereals, continental, fresh fruit and juice, Coffee and tea

The pub is busy so noise does drift up through the floors until after closing but then why would you be in bed with such a good selection of ales? I wouldn't hesitate to book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view out the back towards the peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r00be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The bunkhouse is perfect if you are looking for a good value place to rest after the 3 peaks walk. It is basic, but on par with what you expect from a bunkhouse. Staff are really friendly- readily offering up anecdotes and tips for the 3 peaks challenge. Food is homely, comforting and well priced and the real ale offers decent and tasty choice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherineeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

fantastic location and friendly staff, but woodchip strikes again. needs a total refurb . food tasty and good beer. room is clean but bar is very grimey. could be fantastic. suffers from 3 peaks itis , a guaranteed trade makes people complacent...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamovershap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here for a short break, when we arrived we were told we were in room 3 the best room in the place we were told, I dread to think what the rest are like. The room was dirty, very basic, for £80 a night and not very well kept but with a great view out the window of Ribblehead viaduct. The bed was very uncomfortable and we got very little sleep (mattress was old and knackered). Down stairs in the bar/eating area was much the same o and the black dog laid in the kitchen were food is prepped and cooked. My dog has a cleaner dog kennel at home than this place. The location is great just a shame The Station inn isn't. I will be coming back to this area but not to this pub/B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank handyandy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingleton hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in the Bunk House at The Station Inn which I assumed would be very basic but clean / safe accommodation.

It was a complete wreck! It was damp and moldy with paint falling off the walls and the plaster beneath crumbling. The mattresses were old and dirty. Incredibly there was a microwave, kitchen and kettle although these were disgusting.

I very much doubt that thing has a fire safety certificate and I unplugged all appliances.

Additionally, bar staff were rude and when checking in I was ignored for about 5 minutes by a lady who I assumed was a manager / owner / supervisor fiddling with a coffee machine. I should have turned around at that point.

Although I booked for two nights, I left after just one. Don't bother staying at this dive. There's a lovely campsite in Horton, try that instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank E2493TRNeilS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
6.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
6.1 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Property: The Station Inn
Address: Ribblehead Viaduct, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Ingleton
The Station Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing