We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and unwelcoming”
Review of The Station Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Station Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We decided to treat our close friends to a visit to the Yorkshire Dales for New Year, as we are huge fans of the area and thought it would be an interesting and different way to spend NYE. As we both had children we were looking for something basic that would allow us the flexibility of when and what to eat, without being stuck to a hotel routine. We searched for weeks, and eventually found vacancies at the Station Inn Bunk Barns - an ideal solution, as there was the option of the pub next door. At £10 per person, per night, you don't expect much other than the accommodation to be clean and dry - and it was neither. The mattresses were stained, the 'kitchen' area was filthy with a fridge that looked like it was on its last legs. In one of the rooms we were told there was a hob - only one ring worked. When it rained overnight the walls were wet due to the lack of lead flashing on the roof, one of the windows had a big crack in it and another was smashed - only covered by a board on one side making it dangerous to children. The paint of the doors was flaking off and there were big gaps around the edge of the door allowing the cold air in. In addition, we were told upon booking that the children would be welcome in the pub on NYE - but this couldn't have been further from the truth with obvious disdain being shown from the locals and comments made to our faces about 'not wanting more children' in the pub. Whilst the location is beautiful, and ideally placed for the 3 peaks I would rather sleep in my car than go back there.
Considering 6 of us shared a room, I have had motels in Australia and NZ for less than £60 per night that were considerably cleaner and better equipped than this place - not really an exact comparison, but I think it could have been made much nicer with a little effort and money.
T

Room Tip: Don't use the bunk barns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 349 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We arrived in the dark after a long walk and had a cheery welcome from the chap behind the bar.
First, to the room: we had booked a double/twin with shared facilities. When we got to the room, it was a double en suite with a waterbed. We double checked we'd been given the right key and were told that as they were quiet, we'd been given a complimentary upgrade. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean with a great view of the viaduct. The en suite was fine but the shower was in drastic need of a clean and the drain needed unblocking.
Although the bar was pretty much empty (it was a Tuesday in November), there was still a nice atmosphere and a fire burning away. The evening meal was fantastic- good quality, local ingredients and great value. Slightly let down by the pudding but the steak pie more than made up for it.
Breakfast was also a hit. The full English was very big, but not off-putting, with a good selection of items. Good, thick cut toast, a choice of cereals along with fruit, juice and hot drinks really set us up for the day.
We'd asked for a picnic lunch too and again, this didn't disappoint. Only down side was we were so full from breakfast that we didn't tuck into it until almost 3pm!
Overall, a great place to stay in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My friend and I stayed here the night before tackling Whernside. It certainly is a convenient location for the dales / 3 peaks, and of course the surrounding countryside is beautiful.

I get the impression that the room quality is quite variable. My friend and I both had en suite rooms. Mine was really musty, and the bathroom very mouldy (as in not just a bit of mildew, but a fully mouldy wall), but my friend's was very nice and not mouldy at all. Anyway, the place was cheap and it wasn't a massive issue for one night, but if you're staying longer or would really object to that, best to see the room first.

Good food in the bar downstairs and good veggie choices (we ended up having three meals there in total), but they had a dog wandering happily in and out of the kitchen and being fussed by the bar staff, so again may not be everybody's cup of tea!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stopped their as we had done the three peaks challenge , we had read the reviews and wasn't looking forward to stopping as most of the reviews were negative .
We arrived at around 18.00 and was greeted with a warm welcome the pub was very clean and they had a good range of food on the menu , I will say the beer was a little pricey at £3.20 (larger) but food was freshly prepared and was really nice .
Rooms were ok not very big but big enough for me and my dog , the beds were very comfy.
Their is also a bunkhouse as well but wouldn't recommend that unless you are young and like to rough it as it is a little dated but all in all I would strongly recommend the station inn .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Revwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've been coming up to do the Yorkshire Three Peaks at least once a year for around 10 years & always check the station inn first as its a great place to do the walk (or a smaller version of two or just one peaks) and experience the area. I've also stayed in both pubs in Horton (Crown & Golden Lion) and they are good as well so its very much a win-win situation when you book in to explore the area but I was moved to write this review when I heard from someone in the bar after doing the walk recently that they were not sure about the place after the reviews on tripadvisor. I was shocked and thought that people deserve a real review.

I first stayed at the station inn before the present landlord owned the place and it has undergone some welcome improvements such as more ensuite rooms (with powershowers) but has also retained its character, and not sanitized in magnolia walls and beige carpets with poncy spot lighting and alike. It is what it is, a down to earth pub/hotel in the dales which offers good value friendly service.

The first thing to remember is that the station inn is in the Dales and also on the route of the much walked three peaks with plenty of other attractions to pull in walkers. As such, the place is not spotless, walkers bring mud in with them whether to the bar or into the rooms. The rooms are cleaned and turned over each day, with a fresh supply of tea and biscuits and wash stuff. If you feel the need to look on a window ledge or under the bed for dust when you walk in a dales hotel room, you have my pity

I've also stayed once in the bunk house when a few of us came up to do the walk. The facilities are basic (and it can be a bit of a struggle for the wash room in the morning) but that is also reflected in the cheap price. Its def an option if there are a lot of you and young enough to muck in together

The downstairs is split between a more formal dining area to the left as you walk in and the bar to the right. The bar contains a jukebox, a pool table and a TV with skysports. There is also an outdoor beer garden with great views of the viaduct, whernside and blea moor, although be warned there can be a few midges out there

There are the usual range of generic lagers and guinness, along with some local bitter/ales from Copper Dragon brewery, all at very reasonable prices (£3 or under). There are also plenty of wines and spirits on offer, and champagne/sparkling wine can be a great way to celebrate the end of a long walk

As for the food, the breakfast is ok without being anything special (by todays high standards in many places). The bar does an excellent range of pork pies (and similar variants) during the day as well as hot meals and cream teas. However if you are out during the day, the important meal is the evening and the food is excellent with a wide variety to cater for all tastes. Personally, I'd recommend the giant yorkshire puddings which come with either roast beef, sausages or a veggie alternative. For those with a sweet tooth, there are plenty of alternatives including a local cheese board

I have read some of the moany bad reviews and just cannot associate them with the Station Inn. Doing the three peaks is difficult and the weather can be variable in the area so perhaps this puts people in a bad mood. Also there are a lot of weekend charity walkers who think they've saved the world by getting all their friends to pay for their weekend jolly away and too often expect everyone else to fall at their feet and offer them freebies, and then complain at having to pay the same rate as everyone else. As I say, I've been there quite a few times now, chatted to people in the bar and at breakfast and never heard a complaint so just cannot see where these negative reviews are coming from

The place is usually sold out well in advance on friday/saturday nights so you may need to book ahead

The other advice is that you dont "have" to do 3 peaks - just doing Whernside or perhaps Whernside & Ingleborough (with the ridge walk to bring you back to the Station Inn) or one of the other lower level walks around the limestone pavement such as Southerscales. The most important thing to do is hope for good weather and enjoy it, and the station inn is the perfect place to stay for it

Room Tip: A room on the west side of the Hotel offers a view of Whernside and also further from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOPSPURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the station inn along with 3 other couples for the weekend and found it a great place to stay. The landlord Alan and his wife Joe were more than accomodating in every way possible, nothing was too much and our needs were met. The food was as good if not better as we have had in simular establishments and hotels and a very good choice of beers. Localy you can find White Scar Caves, several small villages to visit and the railway station is a few hundred yards walk away. I think after reading other comments on tripadvisor that they are wanting Hilton type hotels but dont want to pay the prices and if they dont like the inns of the Dales they should find other places to visit. Timbucktwo Maybe!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORMANOLIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

8 of us stayed here and had a great time. The location and views are fantastic. 5 mins to Ribblehead Station, White Scar Caves just down the road too. Great spot, food is fantastic all freshly made and prepared and locally sourced within a few miles of the pub. Portions sizes are amazing! Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em_bowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
6.1 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
6.3 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#11 of 22 in Ingleton
216 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#17 of 22 in Settle
82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Inn

Address: Ribblehead Viaduct, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range: $46 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Ingleton
The Station Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing