We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holly Grange Guest House
Ranked #3 of 22 Ingleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Holly Grange Guest House for 4 nights over Easter and had a wonderful time. The room itself was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean - there was also a small fridge and wine glasses and a bottle opener..ideal! There was a great choice for breakfast including a full English cooked vegetarian breakfast and of course toast and a constant supply of coffee and tea.

Wayne and Bev were excellent hosts and extremely helpful. Wayne's knowledge of the local and surrounding area meant our day trips were jammed packed seeing not only well known attractions, but less known equally impressive and bizarre (rock garden!) sites.

The B&B is ideally situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales but within easy reach of the Lake District which means there a huge amount to do and see - which we only touched upon.

We will certainly be returning to the Yorkshire Dales and Holly Grange Guest House.

Thank you Bev and Wayne for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 401 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Right from the moment of booking we were made to feel welcome; terrific communications and advice on local eating establishments etc.

We arrived after a tough 5-5 hour walk for a very arthritic lady and her family, 5 adults in total so we filled the place. The warm welcome, cups of tea on arrival and hot baths/showers were greatly appreciated! With all 3 bathrooms in use simultaneously, no-one lacked hot water - a terrific achievement for a small establishment with 5 muddy guests! The rooms and facilities are spotless and clearly not just well-maintained but genuinely cared for with many personal touches.

After a meal out at a local pub, returning to our spacious rooms complete with mini-fridge, hospitality tray and TV/DVD (with a good selection of movies for loan) everyone was happy to relax before a restful night.

The following morning we were cheerily greeted with a superb breakfast - and everyone tucked in to cereal, juice, full English with tea and toast. All the food was delicious; expertly cooked and delivered with a smile.

Not only are the facilities here on a par with many top-rated hotels, the owners go the extra mile to deliver a very personal service. You have no doubt that you are very welcome and they will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

The usual tourist leaflets are available, but in addition the owners have a wealth of local knowledge and provided personal, annotated maps with places of interest marked. This proved to be particularly helpful when after the long walk, a quieter, easier day was required!

We all thoroughly enjoyed our time at Holly Grange; we stayed for 2 nights and we have no hesitation on recommending a stay with Bev and Wayne; we hope to be returning too!

Room Tip: Downstairs room available for less mobile guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I rarely write comments, but Wayne, Bev and their lovely Guest house truly deserve my recommendation. I'd very much like to see them ranked 1st again on this site.

Even before arrival Wayne rang to check we could find the place, giving us the most expert directions helping us avoid snow riddled roads.

Needless to say we were greeted with as much hospitality and a great cuppa on arrival. All the rooms in their cosy guest house are immaculately kept. Clean, spacious comfortable and very well lit. Careful consideration has been given to decor including good table mirrors for the ladies in which to get ready, which is so often overlooked. Our room included a fridge, DVD player and even little chocolate favours to add a nice final touch.

They have put in a personal touch into everything to truly make the stay at Holly Grange faultless.

It's not just a brilliant guest house but its the warmth of the hosts Bev and Wayne that really makes this place wonderful.

Wayne has a wealth of knowledge and is more than eager to advise on local places to see, dine and things to do.

Bev makes unbelievably delicious breakfasts!

It was my birthday during our stay there and at breakfast Bev brought out a cake with candles! I was extremely touched.

Ingleton is wonderful and beautiful but made even more attractive by Holly Grange and its owners. There really is no reason to consider staying elsewhere, I just wish there were more place like this around the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayK771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed in Ingleton and surrounding areas on many occasions so now the area very well. We decided last-minute to have a weekend in the Dales basing ourselves in Ingleton. We very quickly found Holly Grange Guest House and liked what we saw on their website and booked for a few days later for a 2 night stay.

Easy to find - but then it would be if you knew the area - and we were warmly greeted by Wayne and Beve and were immediately made to feel right at home. We were shown our very large en suite room which we immediately liked and they also showed us their other 2 rooms for future reference which we thought was a nice, and clever, touch.

Our room was spotlessly clean with lots of wardrobe and drawer space so we never felt cluttered even though we had lots of walking gear with us. A lovely big, comfortable king size bed and a clean and light en suite bathroom. We slep very comfortably and soundly on both nights.

Two huge and delicious full english breakfasts made with locally sourced ingredients filled us up for the day.

Wayne and Bev's knowledge of the surrounding area was excellent and even someone who knows this part of the world well picked up a new thing or two from Wayne. We were offered plenty of suggestions of things to do, coupled with a vast supply of local walking leaflets and guides which was appreciated.

Holly Grange is an utterly brilliant place to stay with terrific and helpful hosts. We would definately return and recommend this peaceful guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Simply the Best!! The room was beautiful, large, clean and very well maintained. Bathroom positively sparkled. Wayne and Bev were great, breakfast was excellent. We were made very welcome and will definitely be going back. Well done Wayne and Bev - your deserve the No 1 spot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and it couldn't have been any better, the rooms are spacious and really comfortable and Bev's breakfasts are a great start to the day, you must try the black pudding.... I'm a convert! Wayne's knowledge of the area is excellent and he could talk all day about what to see and do in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. A great stay at Holly Grange and we'd definately recommend staying here as a good base for great walks and seeing all that Yorkshire has to offer. We'll be back soon to try more walks and sample more of Ingleton's great pubs!

Room Tip: Our double room had a king size bed and enough room for a sofa and all the storage that you would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Holly Grange guest house was like home from home!!! My wife and I stayed this weekend for a quiet break and chose the Holly Grange based on the excellent feedback it has received. We cannot praise this place enough.

Wayne and Bev are excellent hosts and are great guides for the local areas - Wayne helped us make the most out of our short break seeing some wonderful sights (we had a lovely meal at the Craven Heiffer, visited the Ingleborough Nature trail in Clapham, the Lion Inn in Settle serves great food, our highlight was the Dales Falconry centre just outside of Settle - highly recommended!!!!!!!)

Our room was extremely comfortable and immaculate - really really cosy and we had the best nights sleep!!!!!!! The location is ideal - there is so much to enjoy on your doorstep but the Holly Grange is situated on a quiet lane so very peaceful (other B&Bs are on the A65 and too noisy!)

Our breakfast was a delight - home cooked using the best local ingredients - thank you Bev! The Holly Grange only has 3 rooms which makes the stay very personal and you are made to feel at home straight away - nothing is too much trouble for Wayne - the best Yorkshire hospitality you will ever encounter.

We now know why Trip Advisor has rated the Holly Grange one of the Top 25 B&Bs in the UK! A title which is hard earned and well deserved!!!!!

We will definitely be back to this gem in the Dales - if you stay you will not be disappointed - the best place we have ever stayed! Thank you again Wayne & Bev

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor - a large room with a huge bed!!! Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank userManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ingleton hotels
0.5 mi away
Harling House, Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
0.6 mi away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Croft Gate Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#10 of 22 in Ingleton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Grange Guest House

Address: Holly Grange Bentham Road, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ingleton
Price Range: $95 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly guest house with excellent facilities, large en-suite rooms and off street parking. Prices start from £60 per room based on two people sharing full English breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holly Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Grange Guest House Ingleton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing