We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leyburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I arrived quite late on Saturday night and the landlord was so kind and helpful. The room was lovely - really big and airy. It was very clean and there was everything you could need there. The bed was lovely and comfy. The bar is really friendly and we enjoyed some drinks in the evening in front of the roaring fire!
I woke up quite late on Sunday morning and the staff would so friendly and were happy to serve me a full English breakfast after 11am!!!
All in all, a perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff, large clean rooms, and a great atmosphere in the bar. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrielouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    21
    15
    16
See reviews for
35
60
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

A super, value for money, hotel, the staff were friendly, helpful and chatty. The breakfast was superb with lots of choices on offer and the bar meals were excellent. The rooms were impressive in size and had lovely furnishings. For the price we paid for this hotel we had excellent value for money and will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, we were met by friendly and helpful staff. Although this is not the most luxurious hotel, it is what it says. Bedroom was large and airy, bed linen nice and clean. Fantastic nights sleep, and lovely breakfast. Will definitely stay again! Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Golden Lion is perfectly situated in Leyburn market square, the public areas and food are very good , things are let down unfortunately because some of the bedrooms need a dose of t.l.c (peeling paintwork and wallpaper).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absolutely shocking place. Carpets rancid and smelly in the bar downstairs. Rooms with old pine beds, cotton flowery curtains tiles coming off the walls and the sides of the old pink bath. No lights working in the upper floor hallways. Drab dark breakfast room with lights not working and awful service. Lorry drivers and labourers (no disrespect meant) would not stay in this dump. Same price per night as Clyde House .......
what planet are these people on. Knock the place down and start again !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine m, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here in December.
It may interest you to learn that we are under new management since then, we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and cleanliness.
Improvements in the rooms and throughout the public areas have been addressed.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for you to see it as it should have been.

Kind regards,
The Golden Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leyburn hotels

North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very comfortable traditional Dales inn. It is well situated in the market square of this lovely small town. We were lucky with the weather and it was a delight to sit outside at the pretty seating area watching the world go by. It is a great base for touring or walking. Try the short stroll out along Leyburn Shawl where you get fantastic views over Wensleydale without much effort. Or if you are more energetic keep going for about 4 miles to Redmire. You can catch the restored steam train back to Leyburn if you like.

The Golden Lion staff are very pleasant and helpful. The food was really great. We had the genuine homemade steak pie which was wonderful.

Some of the bathrooms are a bit dated to book early and ask for one that has been refurbished.

All in all a wonderful stay and exceptionally good value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine m, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and are lucky to have a great team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Golden Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOWESTOFT
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 18 ,the one overlooking the square with the lion outside the window.For the price the room was very spacious.From the very start the staff were friendly and very helpful,something we did wonder about after reading some reviews on here.The food both at breakfast and in the evening was really good and there was plenty of it.This was the first time we had stayed in Leyburn and will return.While the Goldern lion is not the poshest hotel around and some work needs doing in some places we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a larger room than we expected.Although at the front no noise from traffic etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowestoftBob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
1.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.1 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#4 of 8 in Middleham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Hotel Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing