We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Golden Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
72
62
22
15
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
62
22
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan evening mealsunday lunchthe pubhomemade chipswell cookedmarket placegenerous portionslamb shankgreat home cooked foodclean roomslocal beerfive nightspeaspleasant stayfull englishfood festivalblack pudding
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, we were met by friendly and helpful staff. Although this is not the most luxurious hotel, it is what it says. Bedroom was large and airy, bed linen nice and clean. Fantastic nights sleep, and lovely breakfast. Will definitely stay again! Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Golden Lion is perfectly situated in Leyburn market square, the public areas and food are very good , things are let down unfortunately because some of the bedrooms need a dose of t.l.c (peeling paintwork and wallpaper).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absolutely shocking place. Carpets rancid and smelly in the bar downstairs. Rooms with old pine beds, cotton flowery curtains tiles coming off the walls and the sides of the old pink bath. No lights working in the upper floor hallways. Drab dark breakfast room with lights not working and awful service. Lorry drivers and labourers (no disrespect meant) would not stay in this dump. Same price per night as Clyde House .......
what planet are these people on. Knock the place down and start again !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine m, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here in December.
It may interest you to learn that we are under new management since then, we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and cleanliness.
Improvements in the rooms and throughout the public areas have been addressed.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for you to see it as it should have been.

Kind regards,
The Golden Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very comfortable traditional Dales inn. It is well situated in the market square of this lovely small town. We were lucky with the weather and it was a delight to sit outside at the pretty seating area watching the world go by. It is a great base for touring or walking. Try the short stroll out along Leyburn Shawl where you get fantastic views over Wensleydale without much effort. Or if you are more energetic keep going for about 4 miles to Redmire. You can catch the restored steam train back to Leyburn if you like.

The Golden Lion staff are very pleasant and helpful. The food was really great. We had the genuine homemade steak pie which was wonderful.

Some of the bathrooms are a bit dated to book early and ask for one that has been refurbished.

All in all a wonderful stay and exceptionally good value

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine m, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and are lucky to have a great team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Golden Lion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 18 ,the one overlooking the square with the lion outside the window.For the price the room was very spacious.From the very start the staff were friendly and very helpful,something we did wonder about after reading some reviews on here.The food both at breakfast and in the evening was really good and there was plenty of it.This was the first time we had stayed in Leyburn and will return.While the Goldern lion is not the poshest hotel around and some work needs doing in some places we had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a larger room than we expected.Although at the front no noise from traffic etc.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LowestoftBob51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews