We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Clyde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clyde House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and my parents recently for two nights - whilst visiting a relative in the area - and had a fabulous time. Heather and Sean and their family are so lovely and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We were given a lovely pot of tea and the most delicious home-made cakes on our arrival. Our room had a beautiful view and felt so relaxing and was spotlessly clean. The little treats provided (especially the home-made biscuits) were fantastic. Breakfast was a feast made for a king and really set us up for the day. Although there is no private parking at Clyde House, this was not a problem as we were able to park in the square about 30 yards up the road, free of charge - although I was more than happy to put a couple of pounds in the voluntary donation box.

Clyde House is definitely top of our list of places to stay in Leyburn and we will definitely be back.

Thanks Sean and Heather for a fabulous time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniewales22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Clyde House and we really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Leyburn.
Sean and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
128
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meopham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Clyde House last summer so much that we booked again this year. Sean and Heather welcomed us warmly with tea and delicious homemade cakes before taking us up to our well-appointed room with its stunning views over the Dales. Again we appreciated the extra touches of fruit, chcolates and biscuits. Our days began with Heather's superb breakfasts including a wonderful array of poached fruits, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, kippers and the traditional 'full English' breakfasts. Sean and Heather gave us helpful suggestions for further places to visit and nothing was too much trouble for them. We will certainly come again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We were delighted to see you both again this year and thank you for writing another review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Heather and Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was clean with delicious goodies (fruit, biscuits,GOOD tea) - furnished with quality in mind. Nice shower, comfortable bed. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and home made cake. Sean and Heather were great. At breakfast we had plums and elderflower, red gooseberries among other fruit compots - a real treat. Next time we go north we will be tempted to go out of our way to stay there. The place is worth an extra 50 miles!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and Heather's array of fruit compotes. We both look forward to seeing you when you are next up north.
Sean and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was attending a family party at a Leyburn venue where the bedrooms were fully booked but they recommended I try Clyde House. How lucky was that for me! I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Heather and Sean gave me a warm welcome and seemed like old friends from the moment I arrived. They allowed me single occupancy of a twin room, for one night only, not always easy to find on a Saturday night , especially in a popular place like Leyburn. The bed was so comfortable and I had everything I could possibly need. Breakfast was delicious. Heather and Sean are such warm, friendly hosts.
The only downside of my visit was the fact that I only had one night. It would have been lovely to stay longer, and next time the family gather in Leyburn I shall certainly stay at Clyde House again
Thank you Heather and Sean.
Colette

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColetteM516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing when you next have a family gathering in Leyburn.
Sean and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a charming, quirky centuries-old house, yet comfortable with all mod cons and more, such as fresh fruit and home-made biscuits in your room. Breakfast is delicious, especially the selection of fresh and home-preserved fruits. Returned from my 4th visit yesterday and can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ruth778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Heather and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Sean & Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were impressed by how welcoming, friendly and helpful Sean and Heather were. There were different hosts when we visited twelve years ago and we found everything much better than then despite thoroughly enjoying our stay then. The little touches like a tea pot for morning tea, a chocolate each every day and the general cleanliness and ambiance of the rooms together with a good night's sleep all added to the quality of our experience. We will certainly be strongly recommending our friends to stay there when visiting the area. Prices compared with other accommodation in the area were most competitive and we had excellent value for money. There is a lovely garden to sit out in. The food was superb.
Why don't you find out for yourself?
Parking is available in the square and payment is optional using an honesty box.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Heather and I are delighted that you enjoyed your three days with us and thank you for writing such a glowing review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Clyde House.

Sean and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

You can really appreciate why this establishment gets such "roaring reviews". We stayed en route to Chester Le Street at this absolute gem of a B&B where Sean & Heather really have set the benchmark. A little courtesy goes a long way and they have this in abundance with the warmest of welcomes and everything done to please the tired traveller. Crisp linen adorns beds in simple yet tasteful rooms, chocolates and fruit and that breakfast! Fit for a king with fresh produce sourced locally. Oddly enough all their reviews read the same - luckily we know why!! Many thanks and hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exmabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Heather and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for writing a lovely review, we hope you and your son had an enjoyable day watching the Ashes match. We look forward to seeing you at Clyde House on your next visit to Leyburn.

Sean and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
6.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
392 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#4 of 20 in Leyburn
161 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde House

Property: Clyde House
Address: 5 Railway Street, Leyburn DL8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clyde House is a privatley owned and run 5 bedroom guest house, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales. All our rooms are ensuite showers and have flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and batrobes, also Heathers homemade biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clyde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde House Hotel Leyburn
Clyde House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing