We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Clyde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clyde House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This really is a lovely place to stay. You are made so welcome from the minute you arrive. I have stayed in many b and b's and this is up there as probably the best I have been to. What a shame it was only one night - so much breakfast choice and so little time! It's a pleasure to go somewhere where the hosts are clearly proud of what they do - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for writing the review, we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay , Heather and I look forward to seeing you again.
Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 301 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stop here during the Swaledale Festival at the end of May. A very comfortable room and a most splendid breakfast. Sean and heather were most diligent hosts. We particularly appreciated the cup of tea on our arrival. Most definitely recommended and we hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both.

Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely marvellous. Hosts Heather and Sean couldn't be more helpful.

Five star rooms, and with this attentive service you'd think you were in the Ritz ;-)

My only reservation was that it is on the road through the village, but that was soon to prove not to be the slightest issue. I had two great nights sleep, and I'm a light sleeper!

Breakfast is amazing, and mostly quality local product. The Flynns really know their stuff about food, having run a very successful restaurant in Rye for many years, attended by the likes of Paul McCartney and John Slazenger!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grovesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Heather and I are delighted that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and your lovely comments about breakfast, we do try and source all our, eggs bacon and sauasage, jams and curds locally, also Heather makes all her own Museli, Granola and Fresh Fruit Compotes . We both feel that it is the attention to the little things that make our guests stay as memorable as possible. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrive late afternoon and were greeted by Sean and Heather.After checking out the accommodation we were provided with tea and home made cake.We only stayed for 1 night and wished we were staying for longer. The breakfast was excellent and we were given details of a super walk in Middleham. Our hosts could not have done more to make our stay most memorable. We hope we can return for longer

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenandelsieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Heather and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely comments about the breakfast and for taking the time to write the review, it is much appreciated.
Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for one night in June whilst on a minibreak in the Dales. The reviews on Tripadvisor where an important factor in our decision to stay at Clyde House, and we were absolutely delighted with this B and B. We chose the Middleham Room at the back of the property, which has the double advantage of some great views over the garden and the hills beyond.

The room was quiet and very comfortable - traditionally furnished rather than modernist chic. Location wise it is spot on and a great option if you decide to dine at the Wensleydale Heifer in West Witton - just a short taxi ride away.

As for breakfast - well, simply amazing. The full English was the tastiest we have experienced in a long time. You will not have to eat again until the end of the day! Thanks Sean and Heather for a great experience.

Room Tip: The Middleham Room, being at the rear of the property, also benefits from being away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Heather and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Clyde House and thank you for your fantastic review, we do appreciate the time you took to write this.
With best wishes
Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

That was my husband's verdict on Heather Flynn's wonderful breakfasts during our recent 3-night stay at Clyde House. It was our third visit and the breakfasts have been consistently excellent. There is a wonderful range of dishes, including cooked seasonal fruit such as rhubarb. Each main course is prepared to order and the ingredients - eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, smoked salmon, haddock - are all locally sourced and of excellent quality. Special diets are generously catered for (eg vegetarian sausages, gluten-free cereals) and there is as much excellent coffee or tea as you can drink.
The accommodation is comfortable and spotlessly clean. Heather and her husband Sean do everything they can to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
Leyburn is a delightful centre for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Our visit, during the last week in May, coincided with the first week of the Swaledale Festival - a fortnight-long celebration of music, art, drama and the local countryside. There were lots of interesting events to attend, in varied locations in both Swaledale and Wensleydale. A good local bus service means it is possible to visit attractive places in the area, such as Ripon and Richmond, without needing to use the car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatharineHighLegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Heather and I would like to thank you and your husband for such a glowing review. It was lovely to see you both again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at Clyde House due to gaining work experience for the week in Leyburn. I do not think that I could have chosen a better place to stay. On arrival I was immediately made to feel welcome, which was very comforting since this was my first time staying alone in a B&B. Sean and Heather were/are extremely helpful and excellent hosts, every time I came back from work they asked if I would like to spend some time in the garden or if I'd like a glass of wine with them. Breakfast was delicious and as a vegetarian there were lots of options available - the fruit compotes are superb. My room was very clean and everyday there were some freshly homemade biscuits waiting for me to enjoy.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoebeTSeddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at Clyde House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing a review, Heather is thrilled that you enjoyed your breakfast so much and her homemade biscuits, We both wish you luck in your studies and thank you for choosing Clyde House.

Sean and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leyburn hotels
3.3 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 4 in West Witton
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale's Haven
Dale's Haven
#9 of 20 in Leyburn
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde House

Address: 5 Railway Street, Leyburn DL8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $111 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clyde House is a privatley owned and run 5 bedroom guest house, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales. All our rooms are ensuite showers and have flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and batrobes, also Heathers homemade biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clyde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde House Hotel Leyburn
Clyde House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing