We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe haven in the snow”
Review of Clyde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clyde House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was both relieved and delighted to arrive at Clyde House, having risked the snow. Warm house, warm welcome, appealing bedroom and everything I needed. TV in the room, hot and cold drinks, dressing gowns, nothing missing. I know Leyburn well but have never previously needed to stay. Now I think I might find excuses!
The Italian restaurant opposite is excellent and good value.
Breakfast at Clyde House is excellent.
I have nothing but praise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwomanYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 303 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything about Clyde House is superb, from the lovely warm welcome on arrival with home made cakes and tea in the lounge - to the wonderfully appointed room, the beautiful decor to the fabulous breakfast - outstanding! Sean and Heather are wonderful hosts, Clyde House is a credit to them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Heather and Sean were hugely welcoming and the entire break was lovely. Breakfast in particular was superb and as we stayed three nights we were treated to a lovely afternoon tea including homemade scones, sandwiches and cakes. A beautiful, clean and comfortable room with a well stocked tea tray, fruit, water and a chocolate treat. Overall a fantastic experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile4goodkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited Clyde house with our friend from the USA on a short trip around the Yorkshire Dales.
We received a very warm welcome from Sean and Heather - the tea, coffee and cake on arrival -a nice liitle touch. All of us really enjoyed our stay, and would unreservedly recommend this lovely place nothing was a problem. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and wonderfully warm and welcoming hosts. Breakfast was fab with blackpudding to die for! The rooms were immaculate and so clean with lots of added extras - fresh fruit, bottled water, chocolates, wine glasses and a cork screw. The service we received was exceptional, the owners could not have been more helpful and inviting...even took us along to the local quiz night in the nearby pub! We truly felt like a welcome guests in their home.
We will definitely be back
Thanks very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had the good fortune to find ourselves at the Clyde House under less than perfect circumstances. We had originally booked to stay for two nights at a B&B in Masham, however due to flooding in the area was unable to reach our original destination. Following a very stressful drive we made our way to Leyburn and decided to stay overnight hoping the weather/roads would improve. Based on the Tripadvisor Reviews we decided to give the Clyde House a try, as luck would have it they had one room remaining.

The welcome and check-in was professional and friendly, with the offer of assistance to help with bags. The room was beautifully presented, spotlessly clean with a keen attention to small details (incl. fresh fruit, cookies, milk and cholates) that made for a welcome surprise. Beds were very comfortable, with extra blankets, pillows and hot water bottles available in the room.
Breakfast was excellent with an amazing choice of local produce including preserved fruits. We sampledthe Full English Breakfast and Smoked Haddock, both lived up to expectation.

Sean and Heather are perfect hosts, helpful and engaging in conversation, without being intrusive. It had been our plan to stay one night at the Clyde House and then move to the B&B we originally had booked, however we so enjoyed the experience that we choose to stay a second night. We would highly recommend the Clyde House to anyone visiting the Yorkshire Dales. We certainly plan to return, hopefully better weather!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Sean and Heather who offered us tea and cake on arrival - delicious! Room was clean, warm and v comfortable with nice touches such as fresh milk in a little flask. Shower nice and hot, beds comfortable. After a couple of pints and a curry we returned for good night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was really excellent with home made preserves, granola, fresh oj, good coffee and a full Irish fry-up. All top notch from professionally-trained and very welcoming proprietors!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Clyde House for the night on our way from northern Scotland to London. Having driven around Richmond and Leyburn looking for a place for the night, we stopped at Clyde House. We asked to see a room and were immediately impressed so went for it.

We checked in and when we got back to the room after getting our luggage there was a bow of fresh fruit and fresh milk in a flask for the tea/coffee. Really nice touch.

The room was very nice in the attic of the back building, exposed beams and amazing views over the valley (Wensleydale?).

Breakfast was fantastic. Home made poached and stewed fruit, lovely fish dishes and a good strong coffee to wake us up and get us ready for the drive south.

A great place to stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thor_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leyburn hotels
0.1 mi away
Dale's Haven
Dale's Haven
#8 of 20 in Leyburn
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
5 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Westfields Farm B&B
Westfields Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Bellerby
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde House

Address: 5 Railway Street, Leyburn DL8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clyde House is a privatley owned and run 5 bedroom guest house, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales. All our rooms are ensuite showers and have flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and batrobes, also Heathers homemade biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clyde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde House Hotel Leyburn
Clyde House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing