We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful b and b”
Review of Clyde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clyde House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this lovely bed and breakfast for one night recently. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Everything you needed was supplied, very nice tea and coffee in the room with a flask of fresh milk, homemade biscuits, bowl of fresh fruit and chocolates. Very comfortable bed and fluffy white robes. Sean and Heather were very welcoming and when we got back in after dinner Heather made us a pot of tea while we looked at the map in the lounge which was warm and comfortable with a good supply of magazines, books and games. Breakfast was lovely with an excellent choice of fruits, cereals and conserves. We both had smoked haddock with poached egg with lots of toast and butter. We will definitely go back

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and could hear the traffic on the main road but it wasn't bad. I woul...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddlesbroughJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Clyde House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don't usually write reviews but felt Clyde House was worth writing about. We have just returned after a one night stay on Saturday and would definitley go back. It is absolutley spotless and there were lovely new fleecy bath robes, towels and quilt covers, as good as I have had in some five star hotels. There were also some other nice touches with complimentary fresh fruit, bottled water, chocolates and biscuits in the room. The breakfast choice was first class with everything on offer from smoked salmon to kippers, to a traditonal full English breakfast. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and even showed us round the whole house which was all lovely.I would have no hesitation recommending Clyde House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here last week for 2 nights whilst visiting family & friends in the area. Sean & Heather made us very welcome & all the good things you'll read about the rooms & "trimmings" in previous reviews are true. Excellent breakfasts set us up for the day, Great location & Great people, will definatly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked in at Clyde House for one night recently whilst driving to a wedding in Edinburgh. Having seen all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor I was impressed to discover that the welcome from Sean and Heather truly lived up to its reputation! Tea and homemade cake on arrival in the comfortable lounge were a lovely treat and my single room was relaxing and comfortable with lots of thoughtful extras, couldn't resist the grapes and tempting biscuits.The wonderful breakfast was beautifully presented and prepared with local ingredients to an exceptionally high standard. A short walk takes you to the Leyburn Shawl and on a sunny evening I was able to admire superb views of the surrounding countryside. I can highly recommend Clyde House and was only sorry I could not stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here recently for 3 nights whilst visiting friends who have recently moved to Leyburn.
We were given a very friendly, warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless with all the trimmings - bowl of fruit, homemade biscuits, fresh milk, chocolates, and bottles of water which were replaced every night.
Breakfast was full of local produce with bowls of various stewed fruit as well as fresh fruit and museli. Delicious!
Clyde House really is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Might choose to stay in the deluxe room next time because the view from the back over the Dales is t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Rebecca and I had a fantastic weekend in Leyburn at Clyde House,after a very warm reception,with tea and cakes we were shown to our room,very comfortable,clean and very relaxing.We were up for the Wensleydale show on the Saturday but thanks to Sean we were able to travel on the vintage bus to Hawes and Garsdale,first class.The yorkshire breakfasts again firsr class with plenty of choice from several juices,ceareals and fruit but my favourite was the full yorkshire ,all on the plate was locally sourced and beautifully presented.we were sorry to leave but I had to lose the pounds that I had acquired somehow????. Go on treat yourseves to a few days at Clyde House,you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pick any room,they are all great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We received a very warm welcome at Clyde House and quickly felt as though we were in our own home. We appreciated the extra touches such as fresh fruit, chocolates and homemade cookies in our attractive room. There was a spectacular view over the Dales from our window. Heather's delicious breakfasts set us up well for the day ahead. Nothing was too much trouble for Sean and Heather and we were grateful for their helpful suggestions for good restaurants as well as interesting places to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly come again next year.
Derek and Faith Woolston

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leyburn
1.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
419 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.1 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde House

Address: 5 Railway Street, Leyburn DL8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $108 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clyde House is a privatley owned and run 5 bedroom guest house, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales. All our rooms are ensuite showers and have flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and batrobes, also Heathers homemade biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clyde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde House Hotel Leyburn
Clyde House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing