We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Wensleydale”
Review of Clyde House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clyde House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leyburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Beautiful building with many original features, the rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed, the owners Sean and Heather grated us with tea and cakes and warm hospitality before showing us to our room. The breakfast is a joy with a large verity of cooked and cold options all sourced from local producers and Heather's cooking is wonderful. If you are planning a walking or cycling holiday there is a drying room free for you to use. Clyde House does not have parking but don't let that put you off, after unloading your car free parking is available just 100 yards down the road. We enjoyed a wonderful long weekend here and if I am ever back this way then I know I will be re booking Clyde House,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 301 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived late into Leyburn and found Clyde house. Lovely room at the rear overlooking garden. Breakfast was wonderful with a selection of fruit and cooked. Nice touch was the locally made chocolates in the room. Lovely town and area. Only downside was that we had to park in the market place no parking available at B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swindonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here last night greeted by sean very welcoming fresh fruit and milk in our room he had provided peaceful room bed was nice clean really nice place you will get looked after here ten out of ten plus the sandpiper is over the road where we love to eat thnks clyde house weldone

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Clyde House is a gem of a find in North Yorkshire. The decor is immaculate both inside and out. My wife and i had a lovely weekend and were made most welcome by owners Sean and Heather. The breakfast was one of the best we've tasted and the offer of tea or coffee in the lovely comfortable residents lounge or in the patio/gardens were one of the personal touches that made all the difference. Clyde House is an excellent base for touring the Yorkshire Dales and we would have stayed longer. First class all round.

Room Tip: Room at the back has a beautiful views over the Dales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were late in arriving to Leyburn and were fortunate enough to be directed here. We were glad not to have settled on the first b& b we saw as we were in for a treat!. Every need has been catered for, from water, to homemade biscuits and chocolates on the pilllow in our room. Within minutes of entering we had been served coffee and cake outside which has sweeping views and quite magnificent. The owners lent us their computer also so we could book further on ahead. The breakfast was the best we had whilst driving around England. The poached fruits were amazing indicative of their cooking prowess having previously owned a restaurant. You can see the passion of the owners in everything they did! We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: A room facing the garden would be lovely but all rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We only stayed overnight but everything was absolutely spot on

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were travelling the Dales, and looked at a few places (pubs, b&b and hotels). Lovely looking places were booked, and others were not up to standard. After asking a few locals in Leyburn we were directed to Clyde House. We had initially driven past it travelling from the south, but were grateful for the local recommendation. Other reviewers have commented on
features we also found to be excellent ie cleanliness, decor, friendliness, view, bathroom (in fact the BEST power shower we've seen), in-room refreshments (biscuits, bottled water, chocolates, good selection of teas and coffee, fruit, fresh milk), bathroom kits (eg shoeshine, sewing) and lastly the fabulous breakfast. It really is the best b&b full breakfast we have ever had (scrambled eggs done to a 'T'). There is no parking onsite, which we usual try to find. It was OK though. We had dinner at the Indian a few doors away, and were very happy with it too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leyburn hotels
3.3 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 4 in West Witton
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale's Haven
Dale's Haven
#8 of 20 in Leyburn
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde House

Address: 5 Railway Street, Leyburn DL8 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Leyburn
Price Range: $111 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clyde House is a privatley owned and run 5 bedroom guest house, in the beautiful North Yorkshire Dales. All our rooms are ensuite showers and have flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and batrobes, also Heathers homemade biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clyde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde House Hotel Leyburn
Clyde House Leyburn, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing