We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Leyburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $59
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We are still talking about it a week later. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    112
    33
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“not as remember but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not been here for many years and it appears to have gone more upmarket but lost a certain ambiance as a result. Yes food was fine, seating a little cramped, came back as we recalled a fab meal many years ago- this time was not quite as memorable. Saying that still very good just not quite getting those 5 stars of other places we went to on this holiday

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu2010186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've eaten here many times over the past 3 years and the quality of the food, drinks and service are always constantly high.

We always bring our dog who is made welcome in the bar area where there are several tables suitable for dining and the atmosphere is always pleasant. The staff are all very friendly and are very willing to help with additional advice on the drinks or the food menu including their specials.

The food is good quality using local ingredients and the menus are always well balanced which allows us to enjoy the traditional 3 courses without feeling uncomfortable at the end of the evening. So many places confuse quality with quantity but the Sandpiper has the balance spot on. Some particular food highlights during our regular visits have been the roast red pepper soup, homemade fish cakes, turbot with seafood sausage and my wife's favourite, cheese soufflé. Steaks and the local lamb are also very good as are the sweets including creme brûlée and a very naughty strawberry and fresh cream pavlova. We normally finish with very good coffee which is served with homemade petit fours to round off our evening.

There's a good selection of hand pulled ales which are change regularly and I'm reliably informed that the wine by the glass is also very good. Although I've never participated there's also a wide selections of whiskeys available at set prices.

If you are looking for quality food in a lovely traditional inn then the Sandpiper is defiantly the place to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went out with our son, his wife, his two young daughters and her parents on a Saturday evening. The children were made welcome, the food was lovely, plenty of choice and friendly staff. We all enjoyed it very much. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Superb food and wonderful atmosphere... Will definitely be back. Loved everything, disliked nothing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngelbabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Inn also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing